Removing scratches from DVD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2005, 05:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6
Default Removing scratches from DVD

Halo 2 doesn't work and I think it's because of the scratches on the outer edge of the DVD. So is there a way to remove those scratches?
__________________

Ezy Ryder is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 05:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
JDGreen92086's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sellersburg, Indiana
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to JDGreen92086
Default

Get a cd cleaner. example http://www.millionbuy.com/diggamedr.html
Should work for you unless the scratches are too deep.

EDIT: I actually have this thing and it works great. works out the arms as well I've used this sooooo many times. When I rent a movie and it doesnt work or skips, out comes the dr. and it fixes it right up
__________________

__________________
Newbie since 2005.
JDGreen92086 is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 05:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JDGreen92086
Get a cd cleaner. example http://www.millionbuy.com/diggamedr.html
Should work for you unless the scratches are too deep.

EDIT: I actually have this thing and it works great. works out the arms as well I've used this sooooo many times. When I rent a movie and it doesnt work or skips, out comes the dr. and it fixes it right up
Thanks for your answer, but I don't know if that thing available here in Finland. I'll have to look in to it. Looks nice tho.
Ezy Ryder is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 06:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
JDGreen92086's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sellersburg, Indiana
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to JDGreen92086
Default

Try a pc store or some type of department store that has electronics.
__________________
Newbie since 2005.
JDGreen92086 is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 06:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 80
Default

I have used that cleaner and let me tell you it is amazing. Will remove almost any scatch. Only downsidre is its alot of cranking
__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.8 ghz
Gigabyte: GH-PCU21-VG 3D Cooler Pro
1024 mb OCZ Ultra High Performance Ram (Dual Channel)
PNY nVIdia GeForce 5200 128 mb
60 gb hd
17\" Hyundai lcd
Wireless G Networking Interface
Unusable 100 gigs of scsi hds in an inclosure

result: one kickass pc
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=124815&amp;t=64\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/get.gif\"/></a>
crazyb8ss is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 09:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

I've used toothpaste on cd's to fix scratches, not sure about using on DVD's though. Also conditioner (this is usually better, less abrasive). Have to be very careful with the toothpaste remedy as it may scratch even farther if you are not careful and dont do it right.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 01:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

they sell those buffer things almost everywhere... they're like 20 bux
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 05:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

I have a friend that works at a local blockbuster video store. THey have a machine that cleans, buffs and removes surface scratches. I just bring all my DVD's & CD's to him when they need to be done.

That machine is awesome...
HAVOC is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 09:44 AM   #9 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Killians is right, but I've never heard of using Conditioner. I've heard of the toothpaste trick though. You want to use the least abrasive toothpaste you can, and not a whole lot of it. There is a certain type of toothpaste... It is all natural or something like that... It's like Earl's Toothpaste or something like that. They have it in all stores, but it's a little on the expensive side (compared to other toothpastes) because it is all natural.
Him is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 12:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

What do you do with the tooth paste? I have a battery operated polisher from Neato that, frankly, doesn't work given the polishing solution they included with the unit. I was contemplating using jewelers polish or something a little more abrasive. So, again, how do you employ the tooth paste?
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.