Removable HDD install problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2004, 12:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 5
Unhappy Removable HDD install problems

I just bought a Lacie D2 extreme hardrive with 250 GB that my computer recognizes in the device manager but cannot start. Thus it doesn't show up anywhere else including disk management. It indicates code 10 . I tried using windows for troubleshooting but it won't help. What does code 10 mean? Please help. I appreciate it. Thanks!
__________________

ludwigmd is offline  
Old 07-30-2004, 02:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

try going to ur manufacturer's site and downloading the latest drivers... that always worked for me lol
__________________

__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 07-30-2004, 04:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for your reply. I'll try that and get back to you.
ludwigmd is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 11:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks again SiLv3R now my computer can recognize my ext HD after a driver update but I still can't use it because thw software that I'm using (Backup My PC) cannot write to the media, Incompatible? This was done after formatting and partitioning the drive which took 3 hours(250 GB). Also the drive is not recognized by the software. Windows indicate that device is working properly. What gives? Please help!
ludwigmd is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 12:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Also, does the disc need to be formatted and partitioned everytime before a backup because everytime a backup fails the disk mgt indicates that the disc is not initialized? Need help bad. I would appreciate anyone's thoughts on this. Thanks in advance!
ludwigmd is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 04:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

hmmm perhaps you should try another software for backup? can you write to the drive through windows? if you can than it might be something to do with the software you are using.. try looking in the manual or help in troubleshooting and see if they cover your problem or contact the company that made the software
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 12:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 5
Thumbs up

My problems have been solved by using another software. Apparently the first one I used does not support firewire although it indicated in the box. Ah, well. I appreciate SiLv3R's help a lot for pointing me in the right direction. Thank God for people like you. Again your help was very much appreciated. God Bless!
__________________

ludwigmd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.