Remote Shutdown - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2005, 10:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default Remote Shutdown

What is the best way to remotely shutdown a computer. Is it through the ms-dos command? How does it work?
__________________

Sport1031 is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 10:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

telnet in or ssh in, then su to root and "shutdown -h now"
__________________

horndude is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 11:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Nah, even easier way. You connected as a workgroup?

Right click on My computer/Manage

Right click on 'Computer Management (local)' and go to connect to another computer. Browse to the computer.

Click on the Advanced tab, go to the Advanced button under Startup and Recovery. The rest is pretty self explanatory.
Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.