Remote Display/Control - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2009, 09:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Default Remote Display/Control

All,

Hi. I found the forums by searching for ‘tech forums’ this one was the first result in Google and seemed to have about a 10:1 ratio for answers to questions. Also, seemed to be highly active so… here I am. Any who, on to the question.
I am seeking the advice of others smarter than myself. I need to do the following in a small office situation:
1. Use a PC in an adjoining office from the first office (office 1)
2. Display in the conference room (office 2):
a. PowerPoint
b. DVD
3. Control the DVD/PowerPoint from either ‘office 1’ OR ‘office 2’ using the desktop machine in ‘office 1’.

I can make modifications to walls, have some budget, and have a wired network available for use if needed.

Thanks in advance for any help anyone can offer, all brainstorming welcome.

-John
__________________

TechnoMan1 is offline  
Old 08-13-2009, 09:29 AM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Remote Display/Control

Sorry I think I'm looking at this wrong.

Okay so you have 3 offices? The PC is in the office you haven't mentioned, then you want to use that PC in Office 1 and display it on a projector to Office 2?
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 08-13-2009, 09:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Remote Display/Control

Baez,
Actually, I have an amazing talent for putting work into clarity and causing commotion, forgive me. There are 2 offices, 1 and 2 in a building. The PC is in office, one (HR office) and the second office ‘office 2’ is a training room for new hires. The office, ‘office 2’, has a Television in the room, I want to display the DVD and the PowerPoint using the existing TV from the PC in the next room, ‘office 1’ (HR office).

I hope that helps.

-John
TechnoMan1 is offline  
Old 08-13-2009, 09:51 AM   #4 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Remote Display/Control

Alright so what you'll need is a KVM switch. Among a couple other things.

But first, do you know what video formats your TV accepts?
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 08-13-2009, 02:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Remote Display/Control

Hi,

Yes, I have 4 HDMIs, 2 USBs, and 2 sets of RCA inputs.

I was leaning towards a KVM too, but was thrown by thier statements, use two computers with one keyboard mouse/monitor. I need the one computer, two keyboard, video, mouse setups in differing rooms.

Would you suggest wireless or routing the cables through the wall? Also, do you have any specific suggestions based on your experience?

Thanks!
TechnoMan1 is offline  
Old 08-13-2009, 03:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Remote Display/Control

Hmmm, couldn't a bluetooth setup work for keyboard?

Like this:
Newegg.com - Microsoft Wireless Entertainment Desktop 7000 - Keyboards
and one of theses.
Newegg.com - LINKSYS USBBT100 USB 1.1 Bluetooth Adapter - Network - Bluetooth
Work for the keyboard?

Lost those on how th monitor would hook up... long long hdmi cable maybe?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 08-13-2009, 09:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: Remote Display/Control

If you want to make your PowerPoint Presentation to play on TV,you may need to convert your PowerPoint to DVD with professional tool so that it can keep complete of PowerPoint originals like animations, sounds, slide transitions and video clips.
I recommend you the leading solution in this area:Moyea PPT to DVD Burner Pro
Convert PPT to DVD and Burn PPT to DVD movie with Moyea PPT to DVD Burner, PowerPoint slideshow to DVD.
Just enjoy it!
dwightgenius is offline  
Old 08-13-2009, 10:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Remote Display/Control

If you can do it over a lan or a WAN a VNC might be better, But if the offices are next to each other a KVM might be better.

]Best thing with a KVM is the lack of performance ht I use a 20 port KVM daily and have no issues with speed.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 08-14-2009, 12:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Remote Display/Control

Saxon, isn't a KVM for 1 screen and keyboard for multiple boxes?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 08-14-2009, 12:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Remote Display/Control

All,

Thanks TONS for your input! I'm leaning towards a KVM, I love wireless (as an idea) but as a necissary part of business, I'm not a fan. Wired all day.

So, this said, does anyone have any particular suggestions for quality/cheap (can you have both) KVM for a sharing a single CPU with a monitor and TV connection (using HDMI to the television)?

Thanks,

John
__________________

TechnoMan1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Giveaway of the Day - Remote Control PC Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 07-27-2009 08:13 AM
Change drive on remote machine after FTPing to it Hviezdoslav Programming 2 04-27-2009 11:31 AM
Remote Desktop not working 808Alaska Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 04-02-2009 07:17 PM
Vista applications Lexluethar Microsoft Windows and Software 4 01-04-2009 08:07 PM
Remote control Gigabyte + Power cinema problem afroman Microsoft Windows and Software 4 02-03-2008 07:57 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.