remote brains.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2009, 12:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: albuquerque, new mexico
Posts: 1
Question remote brains..

is there a way to put a stand alone wireless trancever where the internal hard drive is and put the hard drive with the other end in another room?

like removing the hd from a game system and ghosting its drive with a transmitter.
__________________

kamperkiller is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 02:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: remote brains..

thats kind of a confusing question....
you can network drives together, that would have the same effect as what i think you are asking...
but im not sure.
you want to use an external hdd and connect it wirelessly to another box in another room? as far as i know, there would have to be a hdd at the other end...
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 02:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: remote brains..

Are you talking about using a nas (network accessed storage) box with a wireless access point?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista applications Lexluethar Microsoft Windows and Software 4 01-04-2009 08:07 PM
Disable internet explorer on remote pc godwinson Microsoft Windows and Software 11 08-27-2008 05:29 PM
Remote control Gigabyte + Power cinema problem afroman Microsoft Windows and Software 4 02-03-2008 07:57 PM
what to do with Logitech z-680 remote softhunder Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 05-22-2007 06:31 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.