Reliability of Raid 0 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2005, 07:51 PM   #11 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

There are more RAID arrays you might want to consider. RAID 4 and RAID 5 for example.

You need a RAID capable IDE or SATA controller (RAID controller) and at least 2 identical HD's.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 07:52 PM   #12 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Maybe your motherboard already supports RAID.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 07:54 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

The reason i didn't mention them is because raid 0+1 is better. Raid 5 is old school, i don't know anyone who uses it anymore.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 08:00 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 160
Default

No, I mean where can I buy a computer with Raid 0+1, I'm not building my own. I'm 15 years old, I wouldn't be able to figure it out without ****ing something up.
__________________
Horn if you\'re a honkey
Qwert is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 08:02 PM   #15 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Its very simple. Lots of people of your age build their own. I don't know any good sites in US to buy a pre-build computer. Maybe www.Alienware.com?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 08:04 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 160
Default

Do they offer Raid 0+1?
__________________
Horn if you\'re a honkey
Qwert is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 08:05 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Well I can understand not wanting to build a PC yourself. But you could jsut get a pre-made PC and then add in the extra hard drives. It takes a lot less skill. The only thing you have to be able to do is open the case, slide in the hard drives, put a few screws in to hold 'em, and then attach a couple cables (use you can use pictures to help you).
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 08:05 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

I built my first pc at 14, didnt know very much, so i would have people from the net help me. But learn, or try to learn as you go, its actully fun unless you get corrupt files on the first install like i did....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 08:08 PM   #19 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Yes, there are lots of people on this forum willing to help you.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 08:11 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 160
Default

[s]Thats okay, I just wanna find a place with Raid 0+1 in a pre-made computer, which is reasonably priced. (Starting under 4K)[/s]

Actually, maybe I'll build my own (if you guys insist that it's not hard) but how much cheeper is it to build your own? And is it simple to do things such as overclocking?
__________________

__________________
Horn if you\'re a honkey
Qwert is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.