Reinstalling Norton - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2005, 08:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6
Default Reinstalling Norton

I have the Norton Personal Firewall that came with my Dell (Dimension 2400). Recently the computer started acting funny so I uninstalled the Norton and it solved all my other problems. The popup blocker had been causing me problems so I intend to reinstall it and disable or change the settings of the blocker. But each time I try to reinstall the Firewall, I get
this error . When I clock "ok" I then get this error .

Could anyone tell me how to solve this problem, or how to launch the MSI (not sure what that is) through setup as the window requests?
__________________

Kailey is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 08:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

use the .exe on the CD instead of the .msi
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 09:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6
Default

How would I do that?
Kailey is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 10:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

go into My Computer, right click on the CD drive and click open (if you double click it will run the 'autorun' and that's not what you want to do)
there shou8ld be 2 'setup' files in there, one of them is a .exe and one is a .msi

the .msi's icon should be mostly silver in colour, so open the other one
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 01:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15
Default

Ya know... Not trying to be a smart allick... but you might want to think about going MacAffee instead. Norton is notorious for messing up software and system performance. And should you install anything on your computer, disable your norton first...
Myristan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.