Regretful...AMD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2005, 09:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default Regretful...AMD

Hey everyone,

im at my cuzins house right now at a bday party and im using his comp. First off His comp rocks!! well , compared to mine. Im regretting i purchased a AMD Athlon 64 because its not as fast as i thot it would be. Iv been noticing its been really really sluggish . My cuzins comp is p4 2.4ghz 256mb ram and it runs so smooth compared to my AMD Athlon 64 512mb Ram. Any ideas why? I shure hope i didnt make a rong purchase...
__________________

__________________
foreverxyoung is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 09:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

When you say "sluggish", do you mean on the internet or in general? You're CPU could be a little better (amd 64 3200 hint hint). Maybe slap on another stick of 512 and I dunno about the mobo.
__________________

Regulus is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 09:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

sluggish in what? in games yours should be better, but more important is the video card, if he's got a better card it should run better, or mebbe ur drive is jsut dirty, if he keeps his cleaner (less spyware) it might run faster, after a clean install of winxp yours should kick *** if he's got the same vid card
GageMW is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 09:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default

sluggish as in overall... windows media player..*not games* .... internet explorer....aim... Eh i thot my mobo was okay... Asus K8N nforce 3 250. I couldnt get a 3200 at the time cuhz i didnt have money and lol atm i dont have any money... So i was wondering if there was any tweak i could do or if its iono ... lol help T_T
__________________
foreverxyoung is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 09:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default

yeah i just formatted mines 2 days ago so its kinda fair run.. he has a geforce mx4400
__________________
foreverxyoung is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 09:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default

oh btw when i run 3dmark 03 on mine lol i hit 3 frames a second on everything besides the plane one.. lol my score i think was 1180
__________________
foreverxyoung is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 10:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 204
Default

You may see a little difference since the Pentium 4's are faster when working with files, but most likely its a software thing. Remove spyware, and clean up your pc by defragmenting and removing unwanted files.
__________________
ACE’s System
Athlon 64 3000+ Venice @ 2.25GHz
EpoX 9NPA+ Ultra
2x512mb Patriot XBLK
256mb BFG 7600GT
Samsung 200GB 8mb
500W Apevia (Aspire) PSU
Samsung CD-RW
Logitech Z-3 2.1
IBM 17”
Windows 2000 PRO

3DMARK05 - 6***
Ace No-Money is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 10:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

yea intel should run faster in media. but amd is a little bit faster than intel in gaming.
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 11:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default

hey guys,
im deciding ... i think i should oc my cpu cuhz i saw reviews at newegg that people oc there 2800+ to 2.1-2.2 ghz. So il giv that a try and see how it goes... Now my problem is tho.. People talk bout RAM ratios? whats that?
__________________
foreverxyoung is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 11:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

ermmm hmmm, besides ur hard drive being full of junk you don't know about, all i can think of is something is broken.... try defragging and running a general diagnostic program (like pcdoctor) for everyithng.... thats really odd, with a athlon 64 2800 and fx5500 you should not be running sluggish in any app and should definately get higher then 3fps in 3dmark
__________________

GageMW is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.