regioncode change - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2004, 12:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 5
Unhappy regioncode change

aarrgh! does any one actually KNOW how to disable the region change limit on my samsung 606f dvdrom because all i get is "it can't be done - buy another"
__________________

stevelll is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 01:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Nope. It's a fixed limited set by the manufacturer. The only way you can change it is to remove the chip with a soldering iron.

If you really had wanted to have a drive that supported any region code, you should have paid the extra bucks for it. The fixed drives are there for a reason.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 01:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 5
Default

good point.

it was standard on my Time at purchase. . now i have to ditch it. . . semi-sneaky or what
stevelll is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 05:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default

just get a program like anydvd it automaticly turns off region protection so you can play any region dvds
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 07:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 131
Default

I don't get out often, hehe!! What is this region protection thing???
Marvel is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 02:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 5
Default

thanks mlr - i'll try that


marvel- now i KNOW you must be joking!
__________________

stevelll is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.