refresh rates - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2005, 07:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default refresh rates

is the refersh rate the same as frames per second?

if so, what happens if the fps of a game exeeds the refresh rate of ur monitor?
__________________

joshd is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 07:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

well horizontal tearing could occur. but a high refresh rate is good but with my monitor up on like 85hz when i cut it off static is insane on it lol u can feel it with ur hand from like 10 inches away. but its always good when bugs are flyin on my screen cuz then i can just turn off my monitor and they all get zapped and they die lol
__________________

burned-ati is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 07:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default Re: refresh rates

Quote:
Originally posted by joshd
if so, what happens if the fps of a game exeeds the refresh rate of ur monitor?
Then your computer is wasting power by generating frames that the monitor simply cannot display.

I believe, and please feel free to correct me, that the refresh rate is the amount of times the monitor is refreshed in a second. This is essentially what a FPS measure is. So if you set your monitor to 75hz, it will refresh its image 75 times in a second.

Now vertical sync is an option that works with your monitor refresh rate. Most people shut off vertical sync because they get ridiculous framerates. Some people can get like 140 in UT2004 and such with vertical sync off.

But please don't be stupid like this. Vertical sync should indeed be on. It caps your FPS to your monitor refresh rate. So if you run a refresh rate of 60hz, then you will not get a higher FPS than 60.

Now why is this good you ask? Well it is pointless for your hardware to process more than 60 frames if your eye can't even detect it and your monitor can't even handle it. In a way you are giving your hardware a break by putting on vertical sync.
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 11:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

doesnt the refresh rate also help with eye strain? iv been told that 70 to 85 is good as i find this old crap monitor is seriously burning my eyes and no doubt i`ll need glasses soon.
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 11:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Higher is better. Use the highest refresh rate your monitor supports. I use 1280x1024 @ 100Hz. But then again, I also have a really good monitor
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 11:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

If you have more fps than your monitor can handel, you may also get ghosting.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 02:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

What monitor do u have 003?
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 02:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

a LaCie electron19blueIV.
http://www.lacie.com/products/product.htm?pid=10121
I got it with my new PC, and quite frankly, it's the best monitor I have ever owned.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 04:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Jeez, my LCD only goes up to 75hz. Is this bad?
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 05:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

refresh rate makes no difference on an lcd.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.