Refresh rate too low? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2005, 09:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Default Refresh rate too low?

Hi Everybody,
Im in the market for a new monitor from HP (only HP for reasons you may figure out ) and naturally i looked right to the top of the bunch to thier biggest monitor I was looking through the specs and noticed that when at the max res it only gets 60Hz. I read an online guide (not sure if it was really a reputable source) and it said to look for no less than 70Hz. Does the Giant res make up for the low refresh?
__________________

Dr Nick is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 09:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

No, giant res will not make up for refresh rate


60hz can cause headaches and other medical problems
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 10:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

yah when you get down to 60hz, you can actually see it flickering, it sux. i would take 1280x1024@70 over 1600x1200@60 anyday
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 11:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Default

Its actually 1920X1200 / 60 Hz if you look at the link. out of these, which would you say i get? Also any monitor that Staples has I can get but thats the limit
Dr Nick is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 07:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

60 is the normal refresh rate for LCDs. It is CRTs that you have to crank up the refresh rate on.

Upping the refresh rate on an LCD changes the picture quality on an LCD... the higher the refresh, the thinner the borders are. At max refresh, text can be hard to read.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 08:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Default

So are you saying 60Hz for that monitor is OK and I won't notice anything? On my Current LCD 60Hz Flickers real bad, hard to see anything without eye strain/ headache Wich of these would you suggest?
Dr Nick is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 09:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

Nothing below 19", but that is my personal preference.

60Hz is fine for an LCD, but not a CRT. My LCD is set at 60, and it is fine.

The L1902 would work, but the next model up looks to be more stable, and has a wider viewing angle.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 10:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You have a spoiled preference, im using a 17" and 15" CRT

CRT's are what you require a high refresh rate for.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 12:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

i have a crt and i have it at 1792x1344@60HRTz and it looks real nice but u say it causes medical probs i toulk it down and 85hrtz refresh
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 06:53 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 42
Default

85hrtz is nice, my brain can cope with that
__________________

CorruptAssassin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.