Reformatting Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2005, 12:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to Khunda
Default Reformatting Problems

My dads computer had an error while repairing the OS so he went to try to reformat and use another XP disk, while reformatting it freezes at 61 - 63% every time. Is there a way that I can get this to finish all the way through?
__________________

Khunda is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 12:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 391
Default

Are you trying to do a fresh install? Try a quick NTFS format in the format options during the instalation of Windows and see if that works.
__________________

__________________
NeoExtreme is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 12:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to Khunda
Default

The OS is messed up pretty bad, I stuck a windows 98 cd in his comp and went to setup. From there is asked if I wanted to remove the files by reformatting. I have done this many times in my Computer Technologies class but this is the first time ive ever seen is just freeze on a percent. First time on 63, and now on 61.

p.s. Nice Comp :=D
Khunda is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 12:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to NickBrown7804
Default

Could be problems with the HD itself.

Not the OS.
__________________
Sometimes I wonder if I\'m enough a nerd to do this...

Intel P4 3.6 Intel LGA775 board.
Nvidia BFG 6800 GT OC PCI-e.
Ultra 600W power supply unit.
2 80 gig Maxtor (raid0) 160 gig (bulk)
OCZ 2048MB 4200 DDR2 (2 x1024MB)
ThermalTake. Tornado primary.
19\" LG LCD
NickBrown7804 is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 12:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to Khunda
Default

I was really hoping to not hear that lol. I will wait till the morning and reconnect all the IDE's and then let it cool down for a few hours. After that I will see if I can get it to reboot. But other then that to be honest the comp and HD was fine. Just after he used a ad aware program he had a problem and had to reformat he said.
Khunda is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 12:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 391
Default

Try to format from a Win 98 boot disk.Fdisk,Format,Reinstall do da do da.LOL
__________________
NeoExtreme is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 12:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Are you having problems formatting within the windows XP installation GUI???? If you are I would just do a diet coke version of a format in DOS. By booting up from a bootable Diskette and typing in on the prompt, Format C:

Also if that does not work use the CHKDSK command to diagnose your HD to see if there is any problems.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 12:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via Yahoo to Khunda
Default

I want to do that but he dont have a floppy disk. I went out and got him all this nice **** and wanted to put one of those in for the safety of it but he said no lol. I will stick one in their tomorrow and give it a try. I am off to sleep to good night to everyone and I will see you all tomorrow.
Khunda is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 12:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

Have you written zero's to the WHOLE thing? Seagate has a free download that does that in DOS, but you will need to make sure the floppies work. If you get an error when its working on installing in DOS, the floppy that is in (two total required) is probably bad, and or did not copy properly.
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 01:52 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

I dont think a low level format would help. Low level formats are only used to get rid of boot sector viruses and to completey erase data for security purposes.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.