Reformatting PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2005, 04:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1
Default Reformatting PC

hey there, I recently did case transfer from my old pc to a new case. And I add new parts to the new case, like motherboard, cpu, video card, DDR2 Ram, etc. And the people that did it for me told me I had to reformat my computer because I have new parts like motherboard etc. When I got my pc back I go home power it and and the computer is loading then I see a black screen saying:

We apologize for the inconvenience, but Windows did not start successfully. A recent hardware or software change might have caused this.

If your computer stopped responding, restarted unexpectedly, or was automatically shut down to protect your files and folders, choose Last Known Good Configuration to revert to the most recent settings that worked.

If a previous startup attempt was interrupted due to a power failure or because the Power or Reset button was pressed, or if you aren't sure what caused the problem, choose Start Windows Normally.

Safe Mode

Safe Mode with Networking

Safe Mode with Command Prompt

Last Known Good Configuration(your most recent settings that worked)

Start Windows Normally

First I tried Start Windows Normally but it doesnt work it restart and goes back to the black screen, then I tried safe mode and every choices it doesnt go in to windows desktop it reload and start at the black screen again. And I go into the system setup and go to boot and change first boot device to cdrom drive, usually when I format my pc I just put in the windows xp cd, then it would load when I restart or power up my comp and go from there. Now when I restart, I see the cd rom drive load but it doesnt go to the windows xp cd, it still go to the black screen. So now I try to explain my problem clearly and as specific as possible, I hope someone knows and help me out. Thank you very much.

askformore is offline  
Old 03-05-2005, 04:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611

If you don't care about the files reload the OS

AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 12:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13

although you shouldnt have to reload, i have swaped many system w/o reloading and havent had any problems although i would recommend it, just less chance for probles thus way
sytosis is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 09:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9

The new motherboard may require you to 'press any key' in order to boot from the CD-ROM, as mine does, and if you do not press a key it boots from the HDD and goes to the same screen again. It does sound like your system went through such a drastic hardware change that you will need to reformat and reinstall windows as I did when I had made hardware changes. If you want to sasve some data just plug it into another PC as a secondary drive. Hope that helps.
CompyKid is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 02:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 34
Send a message via ICQ to mckc86

u have to "flash" the motherboard bios
mckc86 is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 05:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
synergy's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy

The new motherboard may require you to 'press any key' in order to boot from the CD-ROM
If the hdd is set in boot sequence first then there will not be a "press any key to boot from CD". You will have to go into your BIOS and set it up to boot from CD first. Also, make sure the Windows (or OS) disc is in the drive

i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit

HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.