Reformatting a HD with a bad sector - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2010, 11:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 441
Question Reformatting a HD with a bad sector

Is it possible to reformat a HD that has a bad sector(s) on it? I have an 80 GB Maxtor HD that was doing the clicking thing on me and when I cloned it with Maxtor Maxblast it said there were some bad sectors (I think it was around 5 or 10). I was thinking about using it as a backup/storage drive in an external enclousure. The data on it would be on at least one other PC maybe two so it wouldn't be a big deal if it died.

If it is possible what program would I use to do this?

Thanks in advance.
__________________

fairfieldfalconsfan is offline  
Old 12-21-2010, 02:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Reformatting a HD with a bad sector

Try using CHKDSK to repair the bad sectors.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-21-2010, 09:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 441
Default Re: Reformatting a HD with a bad sector

I'll give it a try and see what happens.
fairfieldfalconsfan is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 10:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 441
Default Re: Reformatting a HD with a bad sector

Well when I plugged it into my IDE/SATA to USB adapter it clicked for a while and then the light went out so I think it is just dead. I may just buy an external HD or a used HD locally. Thanks anyway Trotter!
fairfieldfalconsfan is offline  
Old 12-31-2010, 10:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 71
Default Re: Reformatting a HD with a bad sector

Sounds like your whole drive could be bad. However for future reference hard drives can develop bad sectors at anytime without you really even knowing. Those sectors are simply 'deleted' from the 'index' so to speak and are ignored from then on. Or maybe I'm thinking of bad blocks, hmmmm. Maybe you should ignore this post.
MrMarcDee is offline  
Old 01-02-2011, 09:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Reformatting a HD with a bad sector

The windows chkdsk sometimes fails to find/mark bad sectors.

Also, windows doesn't actively mark bad sectors when the system is running, it can only do that prior to loading everything.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-02-2011, 11:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Reformatting a HD with a bad sector

Doesn't chcdsk run on your next restart, before Windows fully boots?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-03-2011, 02:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Reformatting a HD with a bad sector

Correct, as it can't scan/fix/repair active files nor move them safely from such areas.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-03-2011, 09:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 441
Default Re: Reformatting a HD with a bad sector

Thanks for the help guys. I may just get an external HD when one is on sale or I may get a used hard drive locally. A local PC shop is testing some useds HDs they have to see if they are good.
__________________

fairfieldfalconsfan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hdd: reallocated sector Muffin Man Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 09-24-2010 01:03 AM
Bad Boot Sector? ABooth22 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 10-16-2009 04:50 PM
Hdd Bad Sector delta_cop Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 12-17-2005 09:13 AM
boot sector phake Viruses, Spyware and Malware 7 11-05-2004 05:46 AM
HDD prolem - sector EdgeofSanity Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 10-02-2004 08:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.