Reformating/reinstall XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-05-2004, 09:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6
Default Reformating/reinstall XP

Got a couple questions, saw tons of topics with search, but still got my problems. My computer is full for useless junk, that I want to get ride of. Lot of it is Virus'/trojans I can't remove, and my harddrive getting full, I would like to get it back to nothing...ifs its possible.

I've tried going into DOS and "format C:" I get "format cannot run because the volume is in use by another process"

I've gone into boot setup, and placed CD-ROM to the top. Put in the CD and restarted. Stuck there, not really sure how I can get to the screen everyone talks about after this.

I've also read about a bootdisk, but it looked like it was only in WIN98 threads, so dont want to try that till it I know it works for XP.


Im guessing if I want to clear my computer I will need to both reformat and reinstall of XP, please correct me if Im wrong. If theres a thread/website I could follow, it would be great. I just want my computer back to standard. I dont really want to hide the deleted files like some other threads I read were about, like programs adding 0's (I dunno if that made since).

I'm also a little confused about what partitions are, and I know they have something to do with reformating.

Well, any help would be great.
Thanks,

RandomNEWB
__________________

RandomNewb is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 09:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Here are some instructions

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 10:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
str8lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 446
Send a message via ICQ to str8lazy Send a message via AIM to str8lazy Send a message via Yahoo to str8lazy
Default

There are Windows XP bootdisk, you can find them on microsofts website. If you need to get an install of windows going thru bootdisks, that is what you need, and while you are there doing that, they give you the option to reformat and make partitions and all that great stuff.

A partition is when you take a single Hard Drive and you divide it up, like basically putting a "wall" on your HD, then you have 2 sides or however many "walls" you put up. And while inside of windows it will normally says Local Disk (C: ) and for the next partition it would say Local Disk (D: ) even though it is on the same drive.

I hope that that helps some, ask questions if you have them, and if there is something that I missed you guyz can go ahead and fill in the blanks.
str8lazy is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 10:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6
Default

Ok, got to FDISK. At top it says

"Delete DOS Parition or Logical DOS Drive"
Current fixed disk drive: 1
Chose one of the following:
1. delete primary dos partition
2. delete extended dos parition
3. delete logical dos drives in the extended dos partition
4. delete non-DOS partition


I might be at the wrong place...dont know what to do from here.
RandomNewb is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 08:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6
Default

..
RandomNewb is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 09:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Ok, this is fine......first you have to delete the partition. If it's a previous NTFS partition then you will choose option 4 (non-DOS)
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 09:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

After you delete it then you will want to create a primary DOS partition. Then you will have to reboot. Load the bootdisk again, this time with CD-ROM support and then follow the instructions for formatting (line 8 in the above link) and on down the list.
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 05:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 116
Default

first of all tell wot your file system is....? from the details i guess you are on ntfs ...because dos does not support ntfs partition so they wont show them or access them ... so no C: is assigned to your hard drive ... right now when you boot it creates C: which is like a virtual drive which is made in your RAM...... so you cannot format that as that format command is also executed from that drive...... so you can use the fdisk ... you could also use disk manager DM2000 if you are using a seagate drive..!
__________________

Vnet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.