Reducing dust entering the CPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2005, 01:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 380
Default Reducing dust entering the CPU

What can I use to filter air entering the CPU through the CPU fan?
__________________

piggysmile is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 01:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to CyToToXiC Send a message via Yahoo to CyToToXiC
Default

well u can filter the air before it gets to the cpu fan using filters on the case fans.
__________________

__________________
Aspire X-Dreamer case
Asus A7NX8-E
AMD Athlon XP 3200+**
Soundblaser Audigy 2 ZS
Geforce NX6600 GT
2 WD 120 GB Hard Drives**
1 GB CORSAIR RAM**

**sitting MIA in some warehouse
CyToToXiC is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 01:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

I think you might have a few words mixed up. If dust was entering your CPU it would not work. I think what you mean is that dust is entering your computer case, and perhaps getting on the CPU and other components. You can buy various sized dust filters made for this exactly problem at www.xoxide.com . Just browse around and find the size that mathces your fan sizes. You only need to buy enough to cover all of your intake fans, exhaust fans obviously do not need them.
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 01:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 187
Default

All that dust is there because of the heat your computer generates. There is no way to stop it, just use a compressor once every 2 months and blow the inside of your case clean. Only takes a minute to do that.
Michowski is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 01:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to CyToToXiC Send a message via Yahoo to CyToToXiC
Default

huh? heat can make dust?
__________________
Aspire X-Dreamer case
Asus A7NX8-E
AMD Athlon XP 3200+**
Soundblaser Audigy 2 ZS
Geforce NX6600 GT
2 WD 120 GB Hard Drives**
1 GB CORSAIR RAM**

**sitting MIA in some warehouse
CyToToXiC is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 01:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Michowski
All that dust is there because of the heat your computer generates. There is no way to stop it, just use a compressor once every 2 months and blow the inside of your case clean. Only takes a minute to do that.
Wow. You are wrong. Heat does not have the ability to create.





Like I said, you can buy fan filters at www.xoxide.com that will greatly reduce the problem.
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 01:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Airfilters greatly reduce the airflow too.

I would just clean out your computer every 2-3 months, with a can of dust off or a compressor.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 01:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 187
Default

It doesnt generate dust it attracts the dust. Look at your tv and moniter and anything else that gets hot and its all dusty. The heat attracts the dust it doesnt generate it.
Michowski is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 01:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Awesome. Heat doesn't "attract" dust either. I'm pretty sure TV screens get dusty because of the positive charge generated by the way the picture is created, which then attracts little tiny dust particles.

The only way I could see your heat theory working, would be to say that "dirty" moist air is brought in to the case, then the heat evaporates the water, leaving the contaminants as dust. Now that sounds plausible.


EDIT: Oh, btw. My tv screen gets dusty, but doesnt ever get hot...
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 02:07 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

But having too much dust built up in your computer case, causes higher temps due to the lack of proper airflow.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.