Recovering data from a HD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2004, 12:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 20
Question Recovering data from a HD

My old computer is blue screening still and after quite a bit of research Im sure it was some windows updates that caused it. I went to a couple mom and pop pc stores and they said they have had a total of 7 or 8 people come in with the same problem. They told me to reformat the drive.

A friend of mine said I could plug the hard drive into another computer to retrieve my data. I have never done this before and I dont want to mess up my girlfriends computer. Does anyone know if this will work? I already looked in her case and the IDE ribbon that goes from the HD to the MOBO only has two plugs. (one on each end) so I will have to change it to one that also has one in the middle. Is it ok to unplug her HD and then plug another IDE ribbon?

iamjero is offline  
Old 02-16-2004, 01:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02

yes it is ok, but you have to change the jumpers on the hard drive so that your HD is set to slave(S or SL) and your girlfriends is set to master(M or MS)

Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Old 02-16-2004, 02:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 164

refering to what Soloman02 said you dont need to unplug your girfriend's HD only add your HD on since there'r people who go with two HD on their comp.
\"you cant hold a good techie down\"
petogaz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.