recording music - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2004, 08:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 125
Default recording music

I have a lot of cassettes that I want to burn to cd's. I have a line in to my sound card and can record direct from the cassette. My problem is the sound on the cd's is fuzzy sounding when I play them. I have just done a few for practice before I really get into it. My question, is this normally a hardware problem, software problem, or maybe just a me problem not knowing just how to set it up? Any help would gladly be accepted.
Thanks
__________________

dhsrcjh is offline  
Old 01-08-2004, 12:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to illippinno
Default

how "fuzzy" does it sound? radio quality wise?

i dont think you can get a definite cd quality sound recording from a cassette. ive tried doing that myself, and ive had trouble getting the sound quality as high as possible.
__________________

illippinno is offline  
Old 01-08-2004, 12:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

I used to do that quite some time back .. Firstly try using a better player for playing the tapes .. Also use something like godwave to reduce the noise levels etc.. This should definately help u get better quality
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 01-08-2004, 08:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 125
Default

The player I am using is a very good one. It is hooked to a sound system that my wife uses, she sings at local churchs. I was just wondering if maybe my sound card would give the quality sound that I need. I reduced the recording volume and that helped but not near enough. Is there some piece of equipment made that will copy direct from the cassette to a cd? The music parts sounds good but it is the voices that have a fuzzy sound. They are OK until I turn the volume up a little. They are sound tracks that she uses.
dhsrcjh is offline  
Old 01-08-2004, 09:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie
Default

if you have fuzzy noise you may try muting the cd-rom drive
(just a thought)
I have had strage background noise from a CD-ROM
__________________
IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
DVD-R
64MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Old 01-08-2004, 12:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 125
Default

The fuzzy noise is when I play it in my player. It does it also on my computer but that part does not worry me. It really is bad when I play it on my stero or the sound equipment.
dhsrcjh is offline  
Old 01-09-2004, 01:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

U haven't mentioned the sound card ur using .. Is it an old one .. Also ..have u changed the recording quality setting in the control panel.
Also what software r u using for recording ??
BTW .. did u try it out with Goldwave ..??
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 01-09-2004, 02:19 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 125
Default

Realtek AC97 Audio The computer is 1 month old. I don't think I have heard of goldwave.
dhsrcjh is offline  
Old 01-09-2004, 02:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

That's a fairly new sound chipset .. n' it's onboard .. So it might not be ur sound card's problem ..
Do u have any problems when u playback any normal mp3 or audio cd ..??

U can download goldwave from http://www.goldwave.com/release.html
Just give it a shot .. Also u haven't told what software ur using currently
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 01-09-2004, 02:32 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 125
Default

Downloading Goldwave now. Have not had any problems playing anything but the ones that I recorded. I have recorded several other cd's without any problems. I was using musicmatch jukebox.
__________________

dhsrcjh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.