Recomend a video Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2010, 02:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LFCJohnSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 413
Default Recomend a video Card

I have a monitor which says that it has a recomended display setting of 1600 x 900 resolution. My current video card will only allow either 1600 x 1200 which will be out of range or 1440 x 900 or 1400 x 1050, both of which work alright but I use the first one as it isn't out of range from the recomended display settings.

I was wondering if anyone can recomend a video card that isn't too expensive that will allow me to use the full 1600 x 900 resolution my display recomends. I know there wont be much difference but I also want to improve my boot score for my windows experience index which says that my current graphic scores are, 4.2 for aero and 6.0 for gaming. I currently have a ATI Radeon HD 4300/4500 series and don't want to spend too much money on one, so the cheapest you can find that is an improvement on the one I already have will be great.
__________________

__________________


<<<< I JUST WANT AND NEED SOME REP!!!!!!
LFCJohnSmith is offline  
Old 03-20-2010, 03:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Recomend a video Card

Does it have a "recommended" size in Windows? If so, that size should be standard for your screen, no matter what the said resolution is on your screen manual/sticker.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-20-2010, 04:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LFCJohnSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 413
Default Re: Recomend a video Card

I don't use windows or the on board video chip I use a separate video card, but I can't get the recomended resolution to obtain the best display resolution for my monitor. My monitor says it recomends a resolution of 1600 x 900 for best results but my current video card dosne't support that resolution. When I look for video cards they don't tell you what display resolution they support.
__________________


<<<< I JUST WANT AND NEED SOME REP!!!!!!
LFCJohnSmith is offline  
Old 03-20-2010, 04:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Recomend a video Card

Try updating the drivers off AMD's website.

I remember somebody having the same issue because it was using 7's / Vista's useless Standard VGA Driver.
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-20-2010, 04:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LFCJohnSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 413
Default Re: Recomend a video Card

All my drivers are up to date, I am pretty sure it is a hardware issue not a software issue.
__________________


<<<< I JUST WANT AND NEED SOME REP!!!!!!
LFCJohnSmith is offline  
Old 03-20-2010, 08:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Recomend a video Card

Did you try setting it through ATI Catalyst Control Center?

Because, even my HD 3850 512MB has support for 16:9 resolutions.
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-20-2010, 10:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Recomend a video Card

Did you check to make sure that you are using a 16:9 or 16:10 aspect ratio. The Resolutions you give are all for 4:3 or full screen monitors not for Widescreen Monitors which is what your recommended resolution is for.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-21-2010, 02:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Recomend a video Card

pretty sure it's software issue, I just hooked up the old dog, with MX440 (circa 2002) and it supports 1600 x 900

perhaps you over looked something?

the cheapest upgrade would probably be the Radeon HD 5450
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 03-21-2010, 02:55 AM   #9 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,028
Default Re: Recomend a video Card

Try giving this a read.

How to add custom resolutions on ATI without 3rd party programs? - Futuremark / YouGamers Forums
__________________
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline  
Old 03-21-2010, 07:43 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LFCJohnSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 413
Default Re: Recomend a video Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
Did you check to make sure that you are using a 16:9 or 16:10 aspect ratio. The Resolutions you give are all for 4:3 or full screen monitors not for Widescreen Monitors which is what your recommended resolution is for.
There is no aspect ratio button, the resolution options are the only ones that the GPU supports. I have used the catalyst control center to see if I can get the resolution to 1600 x 900 but I can't do it. I wanted to know what do you look for on video cards to find the resolutions that they support as they don't tell you what resolutions they actually support.
__________________

__________________


<<<< I JUST WANT AND NEED SOME REP!!!!!!
LFCJohnSmith is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help With New Video Card Hunter434 System Upgrades 11 09-21-2009 06:30 PM
Which video card to go with? Ksingler System Upgrades 4 03-20-2009 07:44 PM
New video card. 35g700 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 03-20-2009 03:45 PM
Possible video card issue -- ATI X1650 houndofspace Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 12-04-2007 02:17 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.