Rebooting Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2005, 12:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13
Default Rebooting Problem

I've been having some problems with my computer rebooting when running some games. When it plays a video, the monitor shuts off and I can still hear the sound. Then the sounds cuts out and the system reboots. The specs of my system is:

Abit AV8 939 Socket MOBO
xfx 128mb nvidia geforce 6600gt video card
1gb corsair ram
80gb sata hard drive
my power supply is 430 watts

I know that sometimes it can be caused by not enough power being supplied but I figured 430 watts power supply was enough. How would I check if its going over?

Thanks for the help.

esteban1125 is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 12:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO

Is your video card overclocked?

-Dan The Man

<a href=\"\"><img src=\"\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 01:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13
Default problem

Nope, its not overclocked. I've also been reading up on the specific games. For Chronicles of Rid****, Escape from Butcher Bay. They have told people to update the monitor driver. However I can't find a driver for my lcd monitor. Its just a plug n play. There's no driver on the installation disk or the website. Anything else I can try or am i just screwed.
esteban1125 is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 12:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Elbatrop1's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057

Make sure your virus/adware/spyware scanner is up to date, and that you have been using them.

Also, check your temps to make sure that you are not overheating. Another thing that will cause random reboots is faulty ram. Maybe try pulling one stick of ram out, and then swapping them.

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 01:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 81
Send a message via AIM to Ropponmatsu

Is your GPU running too hot? Many video cards will shutdown the computer if they are overheating. Add a 90mm or 2, or better yet at 180mm if you have the slot for one.
Ropponmatsu is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 07:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13

I run idle at about 35 to 37 C. I don't believe it to be overheating. I have three fans. 2 120s and a 90 I believe. I'm starting to think its more the game rather than my system. It runs Doom 3 at high quality without trouble.
esteban1125 is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 10:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13

Well, I just found out that it just took longer to reboot with Doom 3. So it looks like its something with my hardware. Should I try getting a larger PSU? or something else?
esteban1125 is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 02:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019

is it a psu of a reputable brand such as antec, thermaltake, ocz, etc etc.. or is it just a generic one which came with your case ??
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 08:36 AM   #9 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
kboy's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041

Try this for your PSU requirements. I think it's pretty helpful.
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX

1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 11:53 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 13

Its a thermaltake. I tried that program to calculate the minimum power supply. It said that the minimum power supply should be 297 Watts. Could it be my video card overheating? I have three fans going. I have an ABIT AV8 and the guru utility says that my sys temp is 29C, CPU temp is 35C and the last one is 36. I can read off the voltage on the utility also. Its all when idle though. I've been able to play further when turning down sound acceleration along with the resolution and quality so thats why I was thinking it might be an overheating problem. Thanks for the help. I appreciate it.

esteban1125 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.