rebooting problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2004, 08:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 12
Question rebooting problem

ok it's me again,my step son pc is on the blank. ok when up plugged his pc and moved it and when we went to turn it on it booted up and a message came up saying boot from a cd.the os is already on it.if i do that i will reinstall the os.i don't want to do that .what should i do?

thanx
jay
__________________

jayder is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 09:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to Spartan 1394
Default

Did you leave the Windows XP CD in the CD-ROM drive? if you did take it out. Or you might need to go into the BIOS and change the first boot device from the CD-ROM drive to the Hard Drive.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/alienhunter2049/Mysig.png\">

\".......die screaming with sharp things in your head\"

Proud Bush supporter.
Spartan 1394 is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 10:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 45
Default

What spartan listed are the only 2 possibilities i could possibly think of
KreleanX is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 11:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 12
Default

no there was no cd in the cd rom and i did change thing in bios so the hd boots first
thanks
jay
jayder is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 11:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 45
Default

I would say try reinstalling the os, if that doesnt work, look into the possibility that the problem is with the cd. What os exactly are you trying to install?
KreleanX is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 11:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
BVR
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 74
Default

What was the last thing you did on that PC while it was still functioning properly?
__________________
CompTIA A+
CompTIA Net+
MCP 2000
BVR is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 11:45 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 12
Default

nothing ,and windows home.but my wife don't want me to reinstall she think it something else so she want to get a tech and pay for instead reinstalling the os
jayder is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 11:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 45
Default

lol, no offence but that is rediculous, your going to pay someone to do something that will take you less than an hour to do
KreleanX is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 12:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 12
Default

can i use a boot disk
jayder is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 02:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 45
Default

take your windows cd, put it in the cd drive, restart windows, when it first starts up press delete to get into bios window, change the primary startup device as cd, getout of bios and save settings, then you should be able to access the windows menu to format and reinstall windows
__________________

KreleanX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.