Realtek mic problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-22-2006, 10:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Waphlez's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default Realtek mic problems

I am currently using the onboard realtek sound on my motherboard, and I have a big problem with it. When I try to use my mic, it pics up everything that is coming out of my headphones, making it impossible to talk while listening to music or playing anygames, even when there is no sound it makes this loud noise.

I tried restarting in safe mode to avoid the "Realtek HD audio monitor", to see if that was the problem, but then I don't have any drivers to play the mic in. I even unplugged my headphone once and it still picked up the music I was playing.

This is what the audio I/O page of the drivers look like:

When I click on a jack, it brings up a list of different kinds of audio hardware, the list is:

Line in
Mic in
Line out
Rear speaker out
Center/Subwoofer speaker out
Side speak out

I currently have the mic as "Mic in" and my headphones checked as "Headphones". Does anybody know anything about if this can be fixed or if GIGABYTE released an update for these drivers?

If worse comes to worse I will just have to use a sound card instead.

Waphlez is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 02:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421

From my knowledge it is just a bad configuration, usually it is due to wrongly plugging in your stuff or your software wrongly linking to your hardware ports. It might be solved by downloading a new driver or (since there seems to be none) removing and re-installing the latest driver.

My friend had this same problem, he double checked that everything was installed and plugged in correctly, he stopped using the mic for a few days and when he rebooted it all worked fine. :S

Phrantic is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 03:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
bobojuice's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice

I had some wicked bad problems with this stupid realtek onboard sound before. I couldnt use the mic at all onboard. I thought maybe it was defective or broken, and i didnt use it for six months. I even installed a separate soundcard so i could use ventrilo. Then i updated to the latest driver, and now everything works perfectly. Too bad i quit wow since then and have no use for the mic anymore. :/
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
bobojuice is offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 09:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Waphlez's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976

Well, I got it working.
Waphlez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.