REALLY worried here! Parallel, Serial ATA... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2004, 10:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 251
Default REALLY worried here! Parallel, Serial ATA...

Ok, I ordered my computer and stuff and It should be here next week. I did a lot of reading and stuff before I bought it. However I just finished reading about Parallel ATA and Serial ATA and after looking back at my specs I no longer think my motherboard and harddrive are compatible...

My hardrive is the 36.7 gb WD Raptor 10,000 RPM
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...144-200&depa=1

MY Mobo the Chaintech VNF3-250
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...152-043&depa=1

The Raptor says it's serial ATA.
My mobo has only 2 parallel ATA slots.

This is gonna be my first build and I'm worried. Is there something I dont know... or am I right about the two not being compatible...? Please tell me it'll work...
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
Forchunet is offline  
Old 12-18-2004, 10:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 251
Default NVM!

Lol I feel dumb.
I read my motherboard specs thoroughly and I saw:

Onboard SATA/RAID: 2x Serial ATA 150, RAID 0/1

Thank god. I'm good now. Note to anyone planning to build their first computer. Make sure if your hardrive is SATA that your motherboard has SATA slots also.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
Forchunet is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 01:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

Forchunet,

Incase you dont have sata slot in your mobo , you can use a PCI expansion card to connect the sata HDD . But the speed of HDD will be limited, thats the problem.
intercodes is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 02:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Make sure if your hardrive is SATA that your motherboard has SATA slots also.
I think for the most part 'Make sure things are compatible' is the first rule of thumb when building computers.
Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.