Really slow - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-03-2004, 09:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 129
Default Really slow

Does anyone have any idea what might be causing slow start ups?

I was doing nothing on my computer, Just typing on MSN and everything froze. I wasn't downloading anything except a Boxing fight. But it wasn't even downloaded yet. Then my computer started becoming slow until a point it became non responsive.

I restarted...And it took forever just to get to the Login prompt (Im using Win 2k) And it left itsself at the desktop and nothing loaded. I knew it would eventually load but it would take for ever.

So i got my Windows XP start up disk and decided to reformat and reinstall (at first i thought it was software and since i couldnt get in i really had no choice) from my cd rom...BUT THAT was extremely slow too...It would load everything normally up until it was examining the disk then it would take forever.

But it eventually went threw. So i decided to try to format the first disk which the original Windows was on, But it wouldn't work. It kept saying that it could not be formatted.

So...I decided to load Knoppix (what a lifesaver) And it loads fast...and im typing from it now...Nothings really slow. But its just strange because i can't really determine if its a Hardware problem or Software...I thought it might be a Boot sector virus...Can a boot sector virus also slow down the windows setup?

Cause it obviously has no effect on Linux..*sigh* ...

Help please

-AnGuiSh- is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 09:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 72

sounds like a overheat to me id leave the computer off for a hour or so then try again if that doesnt help try running a virus scan and a memory test

perkoset is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 09:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826

too many startup programs~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 09:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 129

Well...Actually i suspected that at first, I left it alone for like 30 minutes, And took the side case off, Still no progress.

Btw...I cant get into windows...How am i going to run a virus scan? I do suspect a virus though

And im almost certian that its not the memory cause if it was Knoppix would be running really slow too.
-AnGuiSh- is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 09:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 129

Originally posted by didi
too many startup programs~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Then explain why the Windows start up is running slow?

I did not install NOTHING. and it all worked fine before.

I hardly have anything in startup besides Norton Antivirus, MSN, and Zone alarm.
-AnGuiSh- is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 10:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 129

Ok...I was able to get on and i got this error messege during startup....I think it might be due to some adware/spyware being detected and uninstalled *sighs*...I don't know if its the cause of the problem though...its the first time i got it

Ps. The colors dont look like that, i saved it as 16 bit
-AnGuiSh- is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 10:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9

lol, you have some spyware on your computer. remove it.
Kotoski is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 11:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 129

I sometimes wonder the IQ of some of the people on these forums. Do you actually read what i say or just say random bull****?

I fixed it anyways.

Thanks for the all the help...i guess

"i got spyware on my computer"




Btw...what makes you draw the conclusion that i do?

I'd really like to hear.
-AnGuiSh- is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 11:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909

over heating problem, definately. and it at least shows that you are on Intel based system, that didtn died at least.

P-3 series use to get froze once over heated, but p-4 and AMD 64's doesnt freeze in start (slows down, and thereafter shuts down)

are you using a p-2's heatsink? or using toothpaste instead of thermal compound?
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 11:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 129

What? Im using AMD. And actually it was a overheating problem so i decided to throw in this extra fan i found and its fine now.

The only thing i don't understand is why i could of ran Knoppix on it fine but not Windows or anything associated with Windows?

-AnGuiSh- is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.