Really low 3dmark scores - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2004, 04:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 23
Default Really low 3dmark scores

I am running an evga ti-4200(64mb) and recieve very poor results in 3d mark03. At default settings, I get 871 3D marks, in 3dmark01, i recieve 5056 3D marks... These are both running no aa and no af and with the latest 56.72 detonator drivers. Any ideas on why I could be getting such low scores? Any help would be greatly apreciated! Here are my system specs:

QDI Platinix 8-a
P4 2.4b ghz
512mb ram
Audigy 2 platinum ZS
Enermax 350W PSU
EVGA Ti-4200(64mb)
60gb Western Digital Caviar *8mb*
Three 80mm fans
__________________

mrsp2man is offline  
Old 04-14-2004, 05:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504
Default

you have a ti4200
__________________

__________________
<img src = \"http://filebox.vt.edu/users/chuck527/My%20Work/Sig.jpg\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Old 04-14-2004, 05:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 29
Default

3dMark looks at more than just your video card, it also looks at processor speed, ram etc.

You can inexpensively boost your benchmark by increasing your RAM another 512Mb. With prices so low, you can greatly increase the speed and performance feel of your machine.

The Ti4200 does not pack a lot of punch at 128MB, let alone 64Mb.

Your best bet is to upgrade your video card. Prices on those have also dropped significantly in the past few months, so a decent to good 128Mb card will run you about $150-170

Good luck.

BTW, I recommend Newegg.com if you're looking at a hardware change.
natattack is offline  
Old 04-14-2004, 06:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 48
Default

get fast ram too, PC2700 is the minimum you should have for good results, and see if you can overclock your ti4200 using coolbits.
KingBobCat is offline  
Old 04-14-2004, 06:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 29
Default

Good point KingBobCat.

Just watch how hot the Ti4200 gets when you OC it.
natattack is offline  
Old 04-14-2004, 07:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Wow, Can't belive the T1's are already bottom dwellers..LOL
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 04-14-2004, 10:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 29
Default

Yeah....times change
natattack is offline  
Old 04-14-2004, 10:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default

exactly how do you run 3dmar03 im having problems myself.
__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Old 04-14-2004, 11:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 29
Default

Restart your machine to ensure windows cache is cleared.

Close down any task apps that are running and kill any unneeded processes. Turn off your virus scan and anything that might kick on while 3d is running. Also kill your windows screen saver if you have one set on.

Fire it up and test your machine.

BTW, what kind of problems are you having?
natattack is offline  
Old 04-15-2004, 06:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default

anytime i try to run it instead of runing it tries to reinstall again. ive installed it but no matter what i do whenever i go to run it it goes straight to reinstall.
__________________

__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.