Real Temp v Core Temp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2009, 03:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Real Temp v Core Temp

Ok, so core temp shows both my cores as of now at: 42 celcius

Real Temp shows both my cores as 31 celcius

Which would you say would be the trusted source here?
__________________

Nick is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 04:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Real Temp v Core Temp

I don't know too much about RealTemp...I do have CoreTemp and it seems pretty accurate, considering I'm using a MacBook. Idle is always between 54 and 60.

What hardware/cooling are you using?
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 04:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Real Temp v Core Temp

An intel E5200 at 2.5Ghz with a Zalman CNPS9500. I always used coretemp however I was a little curious as to why my CPU temp was quite high. I just looked in the BIOS and it seems to be hanging around 31-33 celcius so I may go by what real temp tells me.
Nick is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 04:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Real Temp v Core Temp

I say whatever floats your boat. There's a lot of debate between bios temperature and core temp etc etc. Core temp seems to work for me, though I don't have bios, so I can't check what it says, haha.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duel/Quad core processor support. NanoWarrior System Upgrades 4 10-11-2008 03:44 PM
GPU Core Temp Azander System Upgrades 1 10-04-2008 04:38 AM
Can't load XP pro with Core 2 duo e6750(2) mtslegacy Microsoft Windows and Software 5 08-14-2007 09:48 AM
Can't load XP pro with Core 2 duo e6750 mtslegacy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 08-14-2007 01:57 AM
Core Temp or Easytune 5? for temps advancedgeek Overclocking and Modding 2 07-27-2007 11:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.