Rate - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2005, 02:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 118
Send a message via AIM to c0mmun1st4lyf3
Default Rate

i got a AMD ATHLON 64 3200+ with a mother board ECS 755 A2 754 socket. im not sure what case to get, can someone find me a case with around 450 watt power suply for 20-30 dollars with no shipping, a monitor around 100 dollars
__________________

__________________
HELP!!
c0mmun1st4lyf3 is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 03:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

Can you do it yourself? If you want the PSU included you should get an Antec or Thermaltake case. A 17" CRT monitor will be around $100.
__________________

Sport1031 is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 03:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

A case for $30 with a PSU will be crap, and will not be good. It will use cheap thin steel, which you will cut your self on, and it will happen due to being so small, the PSU will be generic, and un stable power delivery, you will not see the rated wattage, and the amps on the 12v will be a peak, and will be low.


ECS are not a great company, expect no overclocking ability, but are OK(ish) for a standard board.

What GPU you getting?
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 03:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 118
Send a message via AIM to c0mmun1st4lyf3
Default

im only running a 3200+ how much watts of power do i need? i need the web site
__________________
HELP!!
c0mmun1st4lyf3 is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 04:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/

Remember that is for a good PSU (non generic, ones that cost around the $80 mark or above) and you have to add about 50watts to that as well. And then you got to take into consideration that a generic PSU never gives its rated wattage or amp's in a real world enviroment.

Yes the 450watts would run it, but at the cost of it not being good quality, and it is un stable - may cause random restarts, their life span is not as long as a good PSU, and when they go they can take out your whole system, or give out a bright flash, and pour out smoke until you turn it off. It is not worth getting a generic PSU.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 05:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
CECS Major
 
Chase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 387
Send a message via MSN to Chase Send a message via Yahoo to Chase
Default

Like Trifid said, if you get a case with a PSU already in it, the PSU will likely fry in a very short time span. Your better off to shell out the extra $60 and buy a seperate PSU that will last and run smoothly. I have a Thermal Take PSU right now which I purchased from newegg ( www.newegg.com ) for around $60. It's 430 watts and runs my setup great and is virtually silent. Even if you have to save and wait a little longer, buy a seperate PSU.-

::-Chase-::
Chase is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 05:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

My case was $60 and I feel that it ownz.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 01:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 118
Send a message via AIM to c0mmun1st4lyf3
Default

aw i see what you mean, my CPU comes with a 3 year warrenty =P and im broke.. but if it's really THAT BAD then i should consider a separate buy
__________________

__________________
HELP!!
c0mmun1st4lyf3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.