Randomly computer shut down - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2005, 03:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 69
Send a message via AIM to Cold123
Default Randomly computer shut down

Recently my computer has been randomly shutting down. There is no error screens, no messages, it just instantly turns off. Im positive it isnt overheating....im all out of ideas. anyone know what is wrong?
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ 2.2ghz Proc.
A-Bit NF7-S2G Mobo.
768mb DDR400 PC3200 RAM
Nvidia Geforce 6800GT
Cold123 is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 03:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

PSU, drivers, conflict of internal resources????

Could be any of those three.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 04:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...random+reboots
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 04:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

House power wiring issues is one of the first things I would suspect.

Get a tester, their a few bucks at a store. Like a home depot or lowes.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 05:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

overheating cpu, faulty mobo, or umm... infested with virus's and trojans... http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=53623
Static_11 is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 10:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 212
Send a message via AIM to jerry5739
Default

if ur mobo is a SiS chipset...that could be ur problem...i had that same problem until i replaced the board..
__________________
AMD 2700+ @~2.3
ASRock K7Upgrade-880
Corsair Value Select 1024MB DDR400
Kingwin Muntant X Case
eVGA 6600 GT
Seagate 80 GB HD
Allied 420W PSU
jerry5739 is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 03:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 69
Send a message via AIM to Cold123
Default

to the 2nd reply, its not a reboot, its just everything turning off, i have to switch the little on switch on the back of the case off for a few seconds and then back on in order for the computer to turn back on. And its only been recently that this has been happening, and i havent installed any new software or hardware.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ 2.2ghz Proc.
A-Bit NF7-S2G Mobo.
768mb DDR400 PC3200 RAM
Nvidia Geforce 6800GT
Cold123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.