Random Shutdown - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-18-2004, 07:51 PM   #21 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

well, first need to get the vxd error. if it shuts down before u can get it then go into system properties, advanced, startup/recovery and disable / remove automatic reboot check box. then post what the vxd error(s) are. please let it happen a few times to make sure there isn't another app hanging. also check event viewer and report info from there.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 05-19-2004, 03:05 AM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default

Last times it happend, I had no "blue error screen", so I still don't no what kint of VXD eroor was there. But I still recieve recently the "blue error screen" without shut down. It report about folowing errors: VXD Vcache (01); VXD ctpci9x (01); VXD VMM (01). I think it is because of low free disk space left to virtual memory.

I also unable to disable the automatic reboot, because Win98SE I use have no such future (it is only in XP, I think).

And what do you mean under "event viewer"?
__________________

__________________
smartech is offline  
Old 05-19-2004, 10:12 PM   #23 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

heh, thought you had XP. so scratch event viewer and auto shutdown. also check this site out. its for ME, but is probably relevent for you

http://www.computing.net/windowsme/w...rum/18106.html
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 05-20-2004, 12:09 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 29
Send a message via Yahoo to Kortex
Default

could it not be the sasser?
Kortex is offline  
Old 05-20-2004, 12:13 PM   #25 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kortex
could it not be the sasser?
No, the sasser virus prevents your computer from starting up and shuting down correctly, or it doesn't let it go that far to begin with. Also that virus screws with your network connection..
__________________

ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.