Random Shutdown - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2004, 08:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 36
Send a message via ICQ to Big Chub
Default Random Shutdown

I am working on a system, AMD Duron 800 mhz. 40 gig hard drive 256 ram. It just randomly shuts down. I thought it may be a temp problem, but isn't, temps are in good range, and stable, could this be a mobo problem?? the motherboard pretty new, 4-5 months. I tried the ram in my computer and no probs, so i know it isn't the ram. It will shut down, then won't come back on, till i reset the psu.
__________________

Big Chub is offline  
Old 05-12-2004, 08:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 79
Default

umm... worm virus??? If your computer shuts down cause of a RPC, its most likely a worm virus. If not....meh......
__________________

oblivion is offline  
Old 05-12-2004, 08:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 36
Send a message via ICQ to Big Chub
Default

it isn't the rpc thing. The os doesn't even have to be loaded, it can be idling in bios, and just shut down.
Big Chub is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 05:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 36
Send a message via ICQ to Big Chub
Default

PC Chips M825 mobo, 256mb of Crucial ddr pc2700, WinXP, 400 psu
Big Chub is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 05:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

I've been participating on computer forums for 3-4 years now... and i found that in the vast majority of the cases, these types of problems are often attributable to hardware failure/malfunction/glitches/ etc.

The first place to start looking is your power supply. If you have the right tool, you can test the volt/amperage on your power supply. Or take it to any PC shop in your area & have them test it.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 06:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

sounds like a faulty power supply. maybe not conditioning the current. It seems to be stout enough, so I'd check that ASAP, in case its spiking.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 05-14-2004, 03:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yep, the power supply is most likely the culprit
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-14-2004, 10:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

It's nice to see we're all on the same page!
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 05-15-2004, 06:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 283
Default

i have encountered this problem when the heatsink is not connected the CPU overheats and shuts the system down
__________________
My Spyware Site
www.becroydon.co.uk
Under Construction
becroydon is offline  
Old 05-16-2004, 12:26 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 36
Send a message via ICQ to Big Chub
Default

What do you mean not connected? The heatsink is on the processor, and there is thermal compound between them.
__________________

Big Chub is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.