random restart - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2005, 06:44 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 10
Default

hmm ok I think I found the problem. My CPU voltage is at 2.14V yet my BIOS is set to give it 1.365V I have no idea why its not listening and giving it too much power. Any ideas?
__________________

frgpugs is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 04:57 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 10
Default

bump
__________________

frgpugs is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 05:14 AM   #13 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

you updated the bios? what voltage is a prescott suppose to get?
Sui is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 06:30 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 10
Default

1.25 to 1.40 and yes I updated the BIOS
frgpugs is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 04:16 PM   #15 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

very odd, never seen a bios give the incorrect voltage with the auto setting. Manual setting doesn't allow you to correct it? Your saying you did manually set it to 1.365V or the motherboard set it to that value? How are you determining what voltage the cpu is actually getting? Its hard to believe the cpu is doing anything at that voltage.
Sui is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 05:10 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 10
Default

it was auto set at 1.365V and i manually checked it to make sure it was at that voltage. Where im getting the voltage is from is SiSoft Sandra, Hardware Monitor, and Aida32. I dont know if its really at 2+ Volts but then why does my computer restart when i play games?
frgpugs is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 08:21 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13
Default

it is a possibility that ur graphics card is not doing a job! maybe try another graphics card!
eassam is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 02:03 AM   #18 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

Well those programs have known to be wrong. I still don't think the voltage is quite that high, but the heat supports the theory that the volts are off. I don't know of any fix but maybe find some older bios and unupdate it. Other then that replace the motherboard.
Sui is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 06:09 AM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

try clearing cmos or reset to defualts in bios .
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.