Random rebooting computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2005, 08:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 34
Send a message via AIM to KB3JUV Send a message via Yahoo to KB3JUV
Default Random rebooting computer

Hello,

One of my computers is having a little problem. At random times, it will just reboot. I noticed the problem about a month ago when it would just reboot at random times.

I decided that possibly the hard drive was corrupted. I decided to reinstall windows. Well sure enough, I got it to boot up, and to format, and after the format, it said it would reboot to go to the GUI install. I said great it's working. It rebooted but then froze at the black windows xp screen where the little blue bar comes across. Then it would reboot on it's own. It would just continue to reboot over and over.

I decided that the hard drive had a back boot sector. I replaced the hard drive. Now, it reboots during the initially loading of the IDE drivers and RAID drivers and etc when I install windows. And it just does it over and over never in the same place.

What is wrong with this thing?

Thanks
__________________

KB3JUV is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 08:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

psu or overheat
__________________

__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 08:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by damasta55r
psu or overheat
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 08:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

or you could have memory issues. These are the three things I would look into. When it freezes, put your finger by the cpu and judge if you think its running to hot. An aftermarket HS and fan could solve the problem for a low cost. Check it out and let us know!!
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 02:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 34
Send a message via AIM to KB3JUV Send a message via Yahoo to KB3JUV
Default

Ok, I will look into that stuff. This computer is an IBM Netvista that was designed to have a certain fan and etc. I think if it is overheating, there is obviously a problem and a heatsink or fan isn't going to fix it.
KB3JUV is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.