Random Computer Restarts and Crashes - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2004, 01:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 11
Default Random Computer Restarts and Crashes

Hi

This only happens when I am playing games, and it seems to be only the newer games that cause the problem, but my computer randomly restarts while I am playing. It does not seem like there is a certain period of time before it restarts.

My computer is the following:

MB: Chaintech 7vjl EZ
CPU: AMD Athlon XP 2100+
RAM: 512MB DDR
Video: Excaliber RADEON 9600 pro
HDD: 1xSeagate 80gb 1xSeagate 120gb
CD/DVD: 1xAopen 52x24x52 cd-rw 1xDVD-ROM 4x

The psu is 320watt max and I also have a PixelView PlayTV Pro.

I think the problem may be a hadware conflict, but I may be wrong. If anyone can help me, that would be great.
__________________

Minsk is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 02:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 774
Send a message via AIM to RyanOldw83
Default

Do you have onboard video that you havent disabled?
__________________

__________________
Windows XP PRO:$0, Visual Studio 6:$0, Age of Empires 2:$0, Halo:$0.
Having $100s in free MS software while people are being sued over $.99 songs: Priceless
RyanOldw83 is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 05:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 11
Default

No i do not
Minsk is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 06:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Is the PSU a generic one? If it is that may very well be your problem. I used to have random restarts until I finally got enough money to purchase a nice Antec 400w PSU...BTW(wattage isnt all that matters, though that PSU may claim to produce 320w, if its generic it probably doesnt produce nearly that)
Vassil3427 is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 06:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 11
Default

how do i tell if it is generic or not?
Minsk is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 07:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Open up the case and tell us what brand is on it. Or just answer this question, did you purchase the case, and it came with a powersupply already installed? Was it rather cheap $50 or under??
Vassil3427 is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 08:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 11
Default

I brought this case and it did have this power supply.
Its an Olympus ATX-320W/P4/Dual Fan
Minsk is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 08:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 11
Default

and it was $130 (new zealand) about $70 US
Minsk is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 09:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 11
Default

i have no idea. 512 ddr is all i know

I think the problem is overheating, as it only happens while im playing games, ie. using more cpu, and i have a fairly poor cpu fan.
Minsk is offline  
Old 01-05-2004, 09:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

yes definately get a more powerful power supply. if this doesn't clear up your memory try underclocking your system.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.