random CMOS clear - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2005, 09:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3
Unhappy random CMOS clear

I have a computer (not six months old) that is randomly clearing the CMOS for no apparent reason. Every so often, when you push the power button to turn it on, it complains about not finding a boot disk because it's set to boot from just about everthing BUT IDE0. When you restart and enter basic CMOS Setup, all 4 IDE entries are blank (default to AUTO). After auto-detecting the HDD and optical drive, and setting the boot order sequence, computer restarts and boots into Windows XP just fine.

I have used a multi-meter to check the CMOS battery voltage as well as the current drain across the circuit. All appears to be normal. Anyone have any ideas other than ditching the mobo for another one (forget that the tech is 3 years old)?

Thanks for any ideas.

Specs:
Gigabyte GA-7ZXE
AMD Duron 1Ghz
256MB PC100 SDRAM
Maxtor IDE HDD
Creative CD-RW
Older ATI AGP video card
__________________

kleinmeister is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 09:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
sr5
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 32
Default

Are u online, do you have anti virus. Maybe u are infected?
__________________

sr5 is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 10:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sr5
Are u online, do you have anti virus. Maybe u are infected?
99% chance virus has nothing to do unless it's a rare boot sector virus.

How many volts was the battery?
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 07:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3
Default

The voltage across the battery was 3.1 micro-V, current draw across the circuit was 2 micro-A when system was unplugged and 0 when power supply was plugged into the wall. I'm beginning to suspect it's the PS, because the modem (brand new) has been having problems connecting to AOL (the modem it replaced would not connect at all, but another computer at the same location connects to AOL first time, everytime). I'll have to run some tests on the PS. If anyone has any other ideas, I'm listening.

BTW, the antivirus is current, so I'm quite sure it's not a virus.
kleinmeister is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 09:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Battery.

-SkyHi
SkyHi is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 10:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I dont think that a CMOS virus even exists :/

I would replace the CMOS battery. This problem definitely sounds like a dead battery.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 02:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
sr5
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 32
Default

well there are viruses that can scramble your set up configuration.
sr5 is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 03:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sr5
well there are viruses that can scramble your set up configuration.
Is that so? SHow me a link to a website that confirms this to be possible.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 03:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

It's possible their called "boot sector virus's"
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 03:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
It's possible their called "boot sector virus's"
Yes, I've heard of those, but I think he was referring to a CMOS virus.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.