random clicking and lockups on maxtor hd - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2004, 02:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2
Question random clicking and lockups on maxtor hd

I am having a problem with a maxtor hd. I am getting random clicking and lockups under windows xp. I have replaced my power supply and it stopped for a while, but has recently come back. Is it really a dying hardrive or is it possible it is something else? Any info would be greatly appreciated!!!!
__________________

tywilke2 is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 02:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

its dying...backup your data!!!
the same happend to my Western Digital drive
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 02:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 134
Default

I maybe wrong but a 'clicking' HD usually means that that part of ur drive is dead. Bad sectors!
When it 'clicks' does ur PC 'hang' aswell, then crash?
Its because windows is trying to run something that is installed over the bad sectors.

Defragging ur drive will cure it as a temp measure cos windows will move any files away from the bad sectors but when u install something else u'll probably do it over the bad sectors again and the problem will return!


My advice would be to backup and get a new HD before u loose something important.
Or get a new drive and use this one as a slave to and transfer everything across.
chadley is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 03:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
FireFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 608
Default

Yea, it is dieing......back up your files, and if it's still under warranty then send it back and they should give you a new one
__________________
FireFox is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 03:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by chadley
I maybe wrong but a 'clicking' HD usually means that that part of ur drive is dead. Bad sectors!
When it 'clicks' does ur PC 'hang' aswell, then crash?
Its because windows is trying to run something that is installed over the bad sectors.

Defragging ur drive will cure it as a temp measure cos windows will move any files away from the bad sectors but when u install something else u'll probably do it over the bad sectors again and the problem will return!


My advice would be to backup and get a new HD before u loose something important.
Or get a new drive and use this one as a slave to and transfer everything across.
i do not agree...bad sectors won't cause your HD to click
I have lots of bad sectors, and windows does not allocate them and it never clicked
clicking is far more serious

and if running something that's in a bad sector would cause it to click, defragging would cause it to click as well (i think)

when this happend to my old WD hd it clicked a lot and somtimes it hung for a few seconds...a few months later it died

(please correct me if anything is wrong)
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 03:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 134
Default

Notice i said 'maybe i'm wrong'
chadley is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 03:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

no problem
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 04:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Capricorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 372
Default

That sounds just like the clicking I was getting on my Maxtor 160 GB drive. Manufactured in Feb 2004 & purchased in Apr 2004. Dead in June 2004. It was one drive in a RAID-1 pair (with another Maxtor). Replaced them with Seagates. I was such a Maxtor fanboy, too. I still have a number of older ones running in other computers.

I got about two weeks between the first clicks and the last gasp.
__________________
Case: Enermax CS-A106USB
P/S: OCZ OCZ700GXSSLI 700W
Motherboard: ASUS P5N32-E SLI
CPU: Intel E6300(idle 35C/load 39C)
RAM: OCZ Platinum Rev 2 DDR2 800 MHz (4 x 1GB) 4-4-4-15-T1 (2.1v)
Hard Disk: Seagate 2x250GB SATA ST3250620AS in RAID1
Monitor: Mitsubishi DP900u
Graphics: BFG GeForce 8800GT PCI-E
Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia v.2-400 4.1 speakers
Optical: LiteOn 16X DVD-ROM; Sony DRU-710A DVD-RW
Capricorn is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 09:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2
Default

thanks for everyones reply, i have run defrag and checkdisk as well as other hard drive utilities and none show the drive as having bad sectors. I think you guys are right it is on the way out, gonna ship it to maxtor and get it replaced.
__________________

tywilke2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.