rams timings - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-25-2004, 04:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default rams timings

i know this has been posted be4 in another topic but i still dont understand what they mean

ive looked on the sites microbell posteed before

http://www.obm.co.nz/guides/overclocking/speedupddr.htm

and

http://www.techwarelabs.com/reviews/.../index_3.shtml

my ram is at 2.5 /3 /3 /8 is lower number better or higher number? its generic ram will there be a noicable performance ugrade if i go to

http://www.dabs.com/uk/channels/comp...quicklinx=2LGM

or

http://www.dabs.com/uk/channels/comp...quicklinx=2NDG

jus because they both say cas3 but none of he other timings :S

thanks
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 06-25-2004, 05:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

first with the simple stuff.
3200 is the frequency. Normally, there is one bit processed per clock cycle. Since there are 8 bits in a byte, you have 400 MHz RAM. DDR stands for Dual Data Rate, which means that one bit of info will be processed on the upclock and downclock so therefore, 3200 = 400 DDR = 800 MHz.

In order to understand the timings involved with those other numbers, you have to imagine your RAM as a grid composed of Rows and Columns.

At each intersection is a memory location. In order to acces this location, your CPU needs to access both columns and rows.
Those numbers represent the number of clock pulses to address your column (CAS or column address strobe) and your row (RAS or row address strobe).

The smaller the number, the faster the access time, the better the performance.
They also determine the time delay (in clock pulses) required to pass from row address to column address since the CPU can only address either one at one time. Again, the lower the better.

This site gives you a little bit more info in fairly clear layman's terms.

http://www.iamnotageek.com/articles.php?aid=1&page=1
Hope this helps.
__________________

__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 06-25-2004, 06:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the fastest currently out is Corsair Micro PC3200 XL with timings 2-2-2-5
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-25-2004, 06:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

ok so mine atm has CAS 2.5 which is better than the kingston and crucial? but what does the 3 / 3 / 8 mean? and do you know what the rest of the timings are for these two ram types cos i cant find them :s
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.