RAM or VIDEO CARD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2005, 12:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 17
Default RAM or VIDEO CARD

ok i posted something earlier with my full desired spec, but im still very confused.

I am getting

amd athalon 3800+
2gig dual low latency ram
NVIDIA® GeForce™ 6600 GT PCX 128MB DDR3

now someone said i should lower the ram, and get a better graphics card, its just i am not so much bothered about the detail of my games, more the speed they load at.

So if i were to lower ram and increase graphics card, would that make games load faster or slower?

thanks
__________________

flaime is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 12:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

You ain't gonna use 2 gigs of RAM even for games. So yeah, just stick with 1GB RAM and get an nVidia 6800GT maybe.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 12:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

6800GT and 1 GB of RAM will be perfect.

2 GB.... you'll never use it all.
__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 12:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 90
Default

Maybe in a year, but it will cost less by then too.
__________________
Nothing yet...
Something is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 01:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
str8lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 446
Send a message via ICQ to str8lazy Send a message via AIM to str8lazy Send a message via Yahoo to str8lazy
Default

well you might want to keep the RAM if your going to be trying to do some video editing and using Adobe Photoshop or something. But 1 GB should be plenty of RAM for just gaming.
str8lazy is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 01:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 160
Default

Yeah it depends what you do, for gaming take a gig of Ram off and go for the 6800GT. For video editing or something like that it's good.
__________________
Horn if you\'re a honkey
Qwert is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 02:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to Nirvana89
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Qwert
Yeah it depends what you do, for gaming take a gig of Ram off and go for the 6800GT. For video editing or something like that it's good.
Exactly what I was going to say.
__________________
\"So there you are, tubby. Look like a bucket of lard on a bad day. You baby gorilla. Why don\'t you work in a zoo, and stop bothering people? Got a call yesterday from Baskin Robbins. They said that they\'re down to only five flavors. You\'re swelling up as I talk to you.\" - Dirty Work
Nirvana89 is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 02:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

If you have enough money for both the RAM and the Video Card. Than get both. My cousin has 2 gigs of RAM and his computer and games run soooo smoothly, he cut the pagefile down to only 2 mb.

But when it comes to games your video card has the highest priority.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 02:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

well i would go with the 1 gig cause u can always add ram but its not as ez or cheap to get a better video card!!!
Upgrade ur ram later if u see that 1 gig isnt enought which it prolly will be thought so get the card.
but if i were u i would get 512mbram and a 7800gtx just a hint. ull never have to uprgade. then upgrade a ram later
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 02:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default

get a gig of good ram and get a better video card w/ the money. 2gig of ram is pretty much a waste righ tnow cause nothing uses it cept video editing and photoshop. For gaming 1gig is plenty and anything more than that sorta slows it down. w/ the cash i would get some good OCZ or twinmos and a leadtek 6800GT.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.