RAM timings - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2005, 07:33 AM   #11 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I'm almost sure the RAM is the cause why I cannot get up to the clock speeds I had on my old mobo. This mobo adds 33MHz to the RAM speed because it's set at DDR333. Maybe if I set it to DDR266 it won't add the additional 33MHz and I can OC higher. I will first try those alternative timings. Even thoug I will probably get blue screens BAD_SYSTEM_CONFIG_INFO or it won't boot at all. If none of those timings work I will set it to DDR266 and see how high I can get my FSB. I could also buy some betetr brand of RAM, but I don't want to spend money. A new CPU woud also work but it would be cheaper to unlock my multiplier. Im getting one of those conductive pens.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 07:51 AM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
I have CPU-Z

doesn't it tell the ram stock speeds? mine shows the stock latencies with 166mhz and 200mhz.

can set the cas to 3?
__________________

LoTeX is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 07:53 AM   #13 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

CPU-Z shows the current latencies, not the stock ones. I can set the CAS to 3.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 07:55 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Then do it if you are looking for the worst possible timing. But are you saying that you won't boot into windows with it?
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 07:59 AM   #15 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Somtimes the screen stays black. Sometimes it hangs after detecting the graphics card. Sometimes it hangs right before checking the RAM. Sometimes it hangs right after detecting the IDE devices. Sometimes I get a blue screen before XP starts loading (blue bar).
It all depends on my FSB speed and RAM timings, cause if I screw around with it one of the these problems occur. Some settings work, but most settings won't. Especially above FSB 151 everything stops working and I have to clear the CMOS.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 08:03 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Definetely know that feeling. Hate it when it's so touchy.

Do you have any other RAM you can work with right now?
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 08:10 AM   #17 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

No, this is my only DDR module.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 08:29 AM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
CPU-Z shows the current latencies, not the stock ones. I can set the CAS to 3.
ok so the spd page is blank for you? cause that's where it shows my ram stock timings at different speeds.

did you try it with the slowest latencies possible in order to get the fsb up? just stick in the largest numbers you can choose and cranck the fsb up.
LoTeX is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 08:34 AM   #19 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I don't have an SPD tab. Weird. I will try high timings and try to increase the FSB tonight.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 08:39 AM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

talking about touchy ram...my 133Mhz CL3 Kingston ram...once the puter was turned on even for a 30 seconds (and heated up), it didn't want to boot up anymore with those settings. had to lower it down to 100 or wait about 15 minutes and try again. that's what it usually did. sometimes it could boot while hot even at quite high settings (142/CL2) and sometimes it just wouldn't boot at 133/CL3 even at the winter time while keeping all the windows and balcony door open...
__________________

LoTeX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.