ram speed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2004, 01:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 204
Send a message via AIM to Jerigorn Send a message via Yahoo to Jerigorn
Default ram speed

i have the system below; however, my mobo prevents me from running my ram @ 400 mhz, it runs @ 333 mhz. dont ask, this cant be fixed, ive researched it. is there any way i could overclock the ram to 400 mhz or more. if so, how could i do that. risks?
__________________

__________________
*Notebook*
~Dell XPS M1710
~2.16Ghz Intel Core Duo T2600
~2048 MB DDR2 @ 667Mh
~7900 GTX 512
~Media Center
Jerigorn is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 02:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default

With that system below, you should have no problem running the ram at 400 Mhz, the board will support it, assuming you have the board you say you do, http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...28-241&DEPA=0. My guess is that something is wrong in the bios. Also it looks like your CPU is running slow. I have the same one, its running stock at 2.2Ghz.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 03:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah looks like his FSB is running at 166 instead of 200 or something along those lines. Your BIOS should provide those options.....but then again I remember ag3 talking about gigabyte boards not supporting the faster latencies, but I thought that was the ram Timings not the actual ram speed. Can't remember
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 01:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 204
Send a message via AIM to Jerigorn Send a message via Yahoo to Jerigorn
Default

everyone if talked to that has this board has had problems fixing the ram speed problem. most people simply flash the bois and that corrects the sitution; however, this did not work for me. i go to the bois and change the speed to 200, save, and the comp restarts automatically. after this reboot, i go to the bois again to find the speed back at 166. ive tried setting it to manual but the mobo still clocks it at 166.
__________________
*Notebook*
~Dell XPS M1710
~2.16Ghz Intel Core Duo T2600
~2048 MB DDR2 @ 667Mh
~7900 GTX 512
~Media Center
Jerigorn is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 01:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah my brother got a Gigabyte board, he should have listened to me when I said not to...perhaps you can't go above 166 because you are not able to lock your AGP:PCI bus in which that would cause your computer to default back to 166 instead of staying at the 200 because that would fry your AGP and PCI Components.... also his had a jumper on the motherboard so perhaps yours has the same when it comes to the CPU speed.

He also couldn't change his RAM to the appropriate speed I believe. Seems like gigabyte sucks to me
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 02:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

hmmm, know this is more of an obscure method but have you checked your manual for any jumper information? perhaps that is holding you back? if not im sorry for wasting your time, but worth a check, and make sure your BIOS did actually get flashed check all the version numbers
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 11-01-2004, 11:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 204
Send a message via AIM to Jerigorn Send a message via Yahoo to Jerigorn
Default

i read this from the gigabyte website: http://www.giga-byte.com/Motherboard...AQ/FAQ_444.htm
not sure what it means though.
__________________

__________________
*Notebook*
~Dell XPS M1710
~2.16Ghz Intel Core Duo T2600
~2048 MB DDR2 @ 667Mh
~7900 GTX 512
~Media Center
Jerigorn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.