Ram: Size Or Performance? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2004, 02:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 13
Default Ram: Size Or Performance?

I'm planning to buy a new PC. I will use it especially for applications such as Maya, 3ds max, Photoshop, gaming etc etc. Shud I go for peformance or size? Shud I go for a 1GB RAM or a faster 512 MB RAM? I'm totally confused?

SIZE OR PERFORMANCE?
__________________

Seven is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 03:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

1gb of ram, is way faster than 512, go with 1gb
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 03:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to Mission
Default

yea im curious to, like...1 GB or PC 2700 ram, or 512 MB or pc 3200 ram...which is better?

**just an example**
Mission is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 03:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 49
Default

first of all... what CPU are you using??? Cause depending on it's FSB u can go lower in speed of ram. EX. a PC2700 with a P4 2.8E is not good!!
And anything over PC3200 is a waste until you're going to overclock.
So, to be safe, get 1G of PC3200 and u'll be good to go! But make sure not to get cheap OEM C3 RAM. Atleast get some Crucial.
__________________
- Intel 2.8E @ 3.36GHz
- Asus P4P800-E DLX
- 4X512MB (2Gig) Crucial PC3200
- ATI 9600 All-In-Wonder
- RAID card for extra IDE channels
- 120G Western Digital SATA for Windows
- 120G IDE Western Digital Hard Drive
- 80G IDE Maxtor Hard Drive
- Pioneer 107D DVD burner
- LG CDRW/DVD Combo
- Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
- Logitech Z680 speakers
- Thermaltake Xavier II Full Tower
- Thermaltake PurePower 480W ps
- Logitech MX Duo combo wireless keyboard/mouse
- Sharp 17\" LCD monitor
c_ro11 is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 04:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

512 Mb of high performance RAM is much better than 1024 Mb of decent generic RAM.
ag3 is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 05:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mission
yea im curious to, like...1 GB or PC 2700 ram, or 512 MB or pc 3200 ram...which is better?

**just an example**
In your example, using 1 GB of PC2700 RAM would yield far better results.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 06:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

Make sure you get 2x512 sticks though. That's faster than 1 1GB stick.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 06:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default

theres more to it than just 2700 vs 3200 youve also got cas latencys and the fact that a lot of cheaper rams will cause you to get more errors. whats the use of getting a gig of crappy memory thats gonna cause you to keep rebooting. buy 512mb of a better brand and just get another 512 later. youll be much happier with the end results.
__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 06:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Watch out about the CAS latencies... On newer RAM, the latencies are somewhat higher, but the RAM is clocked so high, that it is impossible to compare those latencies with others.
ag3 is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 07:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Yes yes and yes to all the responses about CAS latencies and so on and so forth...

1) Seven, the first and foremost should be quality of the RAM. Nothing else is more paramount than the quality of the RAM you're using.

2) Then comes the speed of the RAM and as you can see, there's several elements that comprise the overall speed of the RAM - not just PC100/133/ etc...

3) Lastly it should be the amount of RAM.

Some might disagree with the order of #2 & #3... but item #1 should be a priority.
__________________

Lone Wolf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.