Ram question????? Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2003, 10:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3
Question Ram question????? Help

I am trying to pick out ram for my computer and i was looking at various pieces and noticed two things:

1. Non-Ecc or Ecc
2. Buffered or registered

What do these two things mean? What are the differences? Advantages/Disadvantages? I need to know so that i buy the best ram for my computer.
__________________

Knowklew is offline  
Old 12-15-2003, 10:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

ok first of all if ur not running a server ecc ram will slow your comp down and costs more. Second of all you need a special mobo to run registered ram normally ones with 64bit capaablity.
If you have a home computer
You need buffered ram(or normal ram) and non ecc who ever directs u other wise is a fool because registered and ecc ram not only cost more they will slow down performance if not used in a sever
__________________

XT is offline  
Old 12-15-2003, 10:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3
Default

Thanx alot for the quick response. I will now go buy my 1GB chip of Non-Ecc ram.
Knowklew is offline  
Old 12-15-2003, 10:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

no problem but their are other things to consider besides those things.
Latency,Timings, ddr or sdram. many things

About latency=CAS Latency is the ratio of the memory's column access time divided by the current system clock. The column access time turns out to be a constant value, so you can see as you in increase the system clock it becomes harder to achieve a lower CAS latency (denominator grows-- numerator stays the same--

From this and the example up above you can conclude that the lower the CAS delay or latency, the better.
And timings well those arn't to important but you need to know if your mobo can support ddr or sdram. they are diverent sizes so make sure you get the right one. And if you get ddr ram make sure you get 2 sticks of 512mb to utolize the dual data interface integrigated on the ram
XT is offline  
Old 12-15-2003, 11:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3
Default

Well, now i am going to get two 512 chips. PC2100 is what my computer takes. So i think i should be ok.
Knowklew is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.