Ram Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2005, 06:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 251
Question Ram Question

I just upgraded from 512 to 1 gig of ram, check my specs for details, anyways i was told theres away to optimize proformance by changing the physical and virtual memory settings.does anyone know anything about this and how i can optimize my memory?
__________________

__________________
WIN XP PRO-Abit AV8 3rd Eye, AMD Athlon 64 3000+1.8Ghz OC\'d to 2.3Ghz
OCZ PC 3500 2 x 512mb dual channel Platinum Enhanced Bandwidth Edition cooled by thermaltake mem fan
40GB maxtor 7200 rpm,120GB Sata Seagate 7200 rpm
Radeon 9600 Xt cooled by TT Fanless heatpipes
Creative SB Audigy 2 (WDM)
PLEXTOR DVDR PX-716A
Sony SDM-P82 18\"
MAG InnoVision XJ700T
Liquid cooling- BIX2,MCP 650 12V inline pump,swiftech MCW 6000 block,1/2\" Primoflex tubing
Case-ThermalTake Armor VA 8000 Black
PCMark 4606/CPU 4516/Mem 4951/Graphics 2381/HDD 3267
socom2playa is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 06:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

Go into controll panel i think from there there is a way to change your virtual memory
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 06:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 251
Default

ok i found where i change the settings, do u know what i should do to improve proformance?
__________________
WIN XP PRO-Abit AV8 3rd Eye, AMD Athlon 64 3000+1.8Ghz OC\'d to 2.3Ghz
OCZ PC 3500 2 x 512mb dual channel Platinum Enhanced Bandwidth Edition cooled by thermaltake mem fan
40GB maxtor 7200 rpm,120GB Sata Seagate 7200 rpm
Radeon 9600 Xt cooled by TT Fanless heatpipes
Creative SB Audigy 2 (WDM)
PLEXTOR DVDR PX-716A
Sony SDM-P82 18\"
MAG InnoVision XJ700T
Liquid cooling- BIX2,MCP 650 12V inline pump,swiftech MCW 6000 block,1/2\" Primoflex tubing
Case-ThermalTake Armor VA 8000 Black
PCMark 4606/CPU 4516/Mem 4951/Graphics 2381/HDD 3267
socom2playa is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 06:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

first what is your virtual memory set at and how bid is your hard drive and what is it's rpm
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 06:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 251
Default

i have a 40 gig at 7200rpm and a 120 gig at 7200 rpm, the virtual mem is set at 1534 mb
__________________
WIN XP PRO-Abit AV8 3rd Eye, AMD Athlon 64 3000+1.8Ghz OC\'d to 2.3Ghz
OCZ PC 3500 2 x 512mb dual channel Platinum Enhanced Bandwidth Edition cooled by thermaltake mem fan
40GB maxtor 7200 rpm,120GB Sata Seagate 7200 rpm
Radeon 9600 Xt cooled by TT Fanless heatpipes
Creative SB Audigy 2 (WDM)
PLEXTOR DVDR PX-716A
Sony SDM-P82 18\"
MAG InnoVision XJ700T
Liquid cooling- BIX2,MCP 650 12V inline pump,swiftech MCW 6000 block,1/2\" Primoflex tubing
Case-ThermalTake Armor VA 8000 Black
PCMark 4606/CPU 4516/Mem 4951/Graphics 2381/HDD 3267
socom2playa is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 06:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Default

i dont think there is anyway to optimize the physical mem though windows, they do make third party programs that can optimize mem for you but i really dont like them. you can get to the virtual mem settings by right clicking on my computer selecting properties, advance tab, Profromance settings, advanced tab, vitural memory is at the bottom of the winodw. with a 1 gig of memory though you shouldnt be using much a Swaper file(virtual memory, Page file) so you shouldnt have to change its settings
mrkoffee is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 06:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

i take it your 120 is master. If thats the case then everytning is great ram wise
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 06:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 251
Default

i dont really understand what you mean ?

Quote:
Originally posted by mrkoffee
i dont think there is anyway to optimize the physical mem though windows, they do make third party programs that can optimize mem for you but i really dont like them. you can get to the virtual mem settings by right clicking on my computer selecting properties, advance tab, Profromance settings, advanced tab, vitural memory is at the bottom of the winodw. with a 1 gig of memory though you shouldnt be using much a Swaper file(virtual memory, Page file) so you shouldnt have to change its settings
__________________
WIN XP PRO-Abit AV8 3rd Eye, AMD Athlon 64 3000+1.8Ghz OC\'d to 2.3Ghz
OCZ PC 3500 2 x 512mb dual channel Platinum Enhanced Bandwidth Edition cooled by thermaltake mem fan
40GB maxtor 7200 rpm,120GB Sata Seagate 7200 rpm
Radeon 9600 Xt cooled by TT Fanless heatpipes
Creative SB Audigy 2 (WDM)
PLEXTOR DVDR PX-716A
Sony SDM-P82 18\"
MAG InnoVision XJ700T
Liquid cooling- BIX2,MCP 650 12V inline pump,swiftech MCW 6000 block,1/2\" Primoflex tubing
Case-ThermalTake Armor VA 8000 Black
PCMark 4606/CPU 4516/Mem 4951/Graphics 2381/HDD 3267
socom2playa is offline  
Old 03-18-2005, 08:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Default

As far as I know Windows does not ship with a memory optimizer. you can get thrid-party programs (not made by microsoft) to clean up your memory.
Say you play a game and exit, when you exit the game there should be fuctions that take care of releaseing the memory the program asked for and cleaning up any dead varibles and that kind of garbage. now some programs dont do a very good job at cleaning the memory up when they exit. so, you can run a memory optimizer and release any of the garbage thats taking up space in your memory. most of todays programs do a pertty good job and cleaning the memory on exit

in the previous post it sounds like you where able to find the vitural memory settings.

I like to set my vitural memory to Size of phyiscal memory + normal PF (Page File) usage
my work computer has 256 megs of phyiscal memory. my PF usual runs at 196 megs. 256 + 196 = 452 and thats what i set my vurtal memory to. if your wonder how tell what your PF is then hit crtl alt del and click on performance tab. i would take a reading right after boot up when system is idel. the main reason being is i want vitural memory to be able to hold a full ram dump if it has to. anything over that number is kind of a waste of space
__________________

mrkoffee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.