RAM question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2010, 11:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default RAM question

My mobo states it supports: Dual-Channel DDR2 -1200(OC)/1066(OC)/800

What is the 1200/1066/800? Speed right?

When I go to get RAM I am always told I need DDR2 800. So I am just curious can I get DDR2 1200 and would it be to my advantage.
__________________

Chad711 is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 11:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: RAM question

You're right. Those numbers are the MHz that the memory runs at. In order to get 1200 MHz RAM you will have to overclock your memory and CPU. It might not be stable. Basically with those specs you can run anything up to 800 MHz, anything above that will require a overclocking.
__________________

__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 12:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: RAM question

I've tried to overclock but I can't get much out of it because I don't really understand everything. I can go in and just move up the cpu to 3.0 with out adjusting anything else and it works. However if I try to move up RAM, volts, etc I can't get it to boot. I tried to get help here many many months ago but I really never was able to get clear cut answers. Wish someone knew my mobo well and could help me try.
Chad711 is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 03:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: RAM question

The problem is, with the exact same hardware I will have a completely different overclock experience than you would. If you're not confident with overclocking the RAM then stick with 800 MHz. To go from 800 -1200 is going to take a LOT of fine tuning with voltage and timings.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 05:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chad711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 1,444
Default Re: RAM question

Yeah I'm just going to leave it alone. I plan on upgrading soon to a i7 and such any way.

Edit: so if I go to a i7 and the RAM speed is DDR3 1600/1333

I need to look for 1333 RAM and hope to OC to 1600, correct?
Chad711 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about ram. overlord20 Laptops and Notebooks 5 09-22-2009 11:45 AM
RAM Question dem0x7 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 06-04-2009 10:20 AM
Ram question Dauntae New Systems | Building and Buying 1 11-29-2008 02:54 PM
New Ram - Quick question mack Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 11-09-2008 07:24 PM
Ram overclocking question Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 4 09-08-2007 11:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.