RAM Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2004, 01:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 13
Default RAM Question

I want to install more RAM in my TC1000 (laptop/tablet PC). I can get a PC 100/PC 133 for about $120…my question is since my TC1000 uses PC 133 (I think) is it better (faster) to use a specific PC 133 instead of a dual PC 100/PC 133?

Being that this card is both, would it be slower than one that is just PC 133?
__________________

mario24601 is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 02:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Well, it all depends.

PC100/133 will support both standards. So you know it'll operate at 133.

Second, it's all in how it's written up. Some people will acknowledge that the chips can pull 100 and 133, others will just tell you what the max speed is (133).

Now, whether there is such a thing as a RAM stick specifically designed to run at PC133...well, I suppose there is somewhere. But really, if this is a tablet PC (sounds like a Compaq) then it won't matter. Yer proc is probably only a 1.0GHz anyway. Just try to get the biggest bang for yer buck. If you want 133, then just focus on the fact that the chip can run at 133, and not what else it can run at. Of course, if you buy a chip who's max speed is higher than 133, you might run into problems. Otherwise, the chip will run at the speed you need.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 02:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 13
Default

Thanks! Very helpfull!
mario24601 is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 03:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to silence782
Default

I don't think it should matter...
__________________
Still weak, I know, but getting better:
CPU: AMD AthlonXP 2500+
1.8GHz @ 333 FSB
512 DDR 2700
160 GB westerndigital hd
Dual booted with XP/Fedora Core 5
PCchips M848A mobo
nVIDIA GeForce MX 4000 video Card
Associate\'s Degree in Applied Computer Sciences.
A+ Certified for Hardware and Operating Systems. Network+ Certified
silence782 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.