Ram Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2004, 02:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 79
Default Ram Question

right now i have 2 sticks of 256mb ddr ram. i want to get more ram. which would have better performance. 2 sticks of 256mb ddr or a stick 512 ddr
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon XP 3000+/333 FSB 512K Barton @ 2.16GHz
Gigabyte GA-7N400-L nForce2 Ultra400 Dual Channel DDR
Geil 512MB PC-3200 (400MHz) DDR
Maxtor 80GB ATA133 7200RPM 8MB Cache
Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB DDR
Lite-On 16x DVD-ROM (48x CD-ROM) Drive
Lite-On 52x32x52 CD-RW Drive
Windows XP Home
Seagate 120GB ATA133 7200RPM 8MB Cache
ACIDDROPPER is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 02:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you'd get better performance if you had the RAM working in dual channel
get 2x512 sticks if you really crave performance, or just get whichever is less expensive (2x256 or 1x512) if you're worried more about price
although sometimes you get errors if you mix 2 brands of RAM
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 08:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

most motherboards only have 3 ram slots, urs maybe has 4? i dunno, i would go with the 512 just to be sure
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 08:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Yon
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 246
Default

I thought that if you had 2 sticks of 256MB, they would work at the same time and be faster than 1 stick of 512MB?
__________________
Intel P4 3.2GHz Prescott @ 3.8GHz
Asus P5GD2 Premium Motherboard
Saphire x800XT With VGA Silencer @ 520MHz and 1.15GHz
Corsair 1GB XMS2-4300
Antec PlusView 1000AMG Case
Maxtor 160GB SATA Hard Drive
Yon is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 09:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 260
Default

When I want to get a new stick for the dual channel, should I buy the exact same brand and model as the one I already have?

Or just they have to have the same latency?
__________________
First Built Computer:
Antec Plus1080(SOHO File Server)+430w
Intel P4-3.0E 1M Cache
Asus P4P800-Dlx i865PE,800FSB Dual DDR400
WD 120G-8MB Buffer
LG 16X DVD
LG GSA4082B DVDRW 8X +/- Black
ATI Rdeon 9600XT 128M
Creative Audigy
512MB DDR PC3200
lavenderAC is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 10:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 233
Default

OK, if I understood your question, you get the same "performance" from 2x256 as you do 2x512. RAM stands for Random Access Memory meaning it can access any data located on the stick at the same speed as any other data located anywhere else on the same stick. If your looking for "performance" you should check the "CAS latency" of the ram you intend on purchasing and make your decision based on the use of your computer. If your into playing graphic intensive games like Far Cry I would recommend purchasing something with a "low" CAS latency and would go with 2x512 and set them up to use Dual Channel if your motherboard supports it (to answer another question, use the same brand, model number, therefor the same latency when using Dual Channel). If your motherboard doesn't support dual channel install like you normally would.

If money is not an option I would recommend buying the following (remember to check your motherboard QVL for information on supported RAM before purchasing):

Corsair XMS Extreme Memory Speed Pro Series, Low Latency (Twin Pack) 184 Pin 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200PRO
or
Kingston HyperX (Dual Pack) 184 Pin 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200

If money IS a problem, I'd purchase one of the following (remember to check your motherboard QVL for information on supported RAM before purchasing)

Corsair Value Select Dual Channel Kit 184 Pin 1G(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200
or
Kingston ValueRAM Dual Channel Kit 184 Pin 1G(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200

Hope that helps
__________________
Come visit a new technology and digital image arena website where you may compete in monthly image contests and chat about technology. t3ch.l33t is currently searching for members to help manage different areas of the site. t3ch.l33t Image Arena Home

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...ch_l33tsig.jpg
crazybeans is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 10:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

If your motherboard does not support dual channel go with one stick of 512MBs, takes up fewer slots and it would just the same as 2x256MB modules. The system sees the memory as a whole and not as individual modules. If the system runs in dual channel mode then 2 more 256MB modules would be good or 2x512s. Sure lower CAS latency will help with speed but not much as people are led to believe. The difference between CL-2.5 and 3 is about 8 nanoseconds, can you see the difference?? If you can see a difference of 8ns, I will call you superman.

http://www.crucial.com/ballistix/

http://www.crucial.com/
__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 10:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

If u mobo can run dual channel, just get a pair of 256MB ram, else just get a stick of 512MB. ( save slot to upgrade later )
__________________

__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.