ram question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2004, 05:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 10
Default ram question

what is better 2*256 or 512 stick
and is there a big diference between ddr and sdr
__________________

new_one1 is offline  
Old 03-01-2004, 05:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 325
Default

DDR, or Double Data Rate, is almost twice as fast, and yes, if your MOBO supports Dual Channel Access, two sticks (if they are a matched pair) will allow the Dual channel access to function, making it even faster.
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeWill
Aquarius 2.... performs as well as urinating in your heatsink
LV38_Eagle is offline  
Old 03-01-2004, 06:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

LV38_Eagle, brother, you speak the truth. However, if you use 2 sticks instead of one, you are using up more ram slots as opposed to a 1-stick setup, which can make future upgrading harder and possibly more expensive since most (newer) motherboards support 1.5-2 GB (3GB if you run a server platform!) of memory, but only 3-4 slots. It all depends what is more important to you and your specific needs.
And yes, DDR memory is about twice as fast as SDR, and isn't even that much more expensive!
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 03-01-2004, 06:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 509
Send a message via AIM to yashar
Default

yea man ddr and sdr are really gay...... some motherboards only take ddr and others only take sdr. i don't really know what the significance of it is.
yashar is offline  
Old 03-01-2004, 06:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 509
Send a message via AIM to yashar
Default

Quote:
DDR, or Double Data Rate, is almost twice as fast, and yes, if your MOBO supports Dual Channel Access, two sticks (if they are a matched pair) will allow the Dual channel access to function, making it even faster.
i should have read. sry.
yashar is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 11:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 205
Default

if the motherboard supports dual channel memory, I say use two sticks. However, if it doesn't then use 1 stick so you can more easily upgrade latter.
__________________

__________________
Shuttle XPC SB61G2
P4 2.8 800 Mhz FSB
1024 Dual channel DDR400
ATI AIW 9700 Pro
120 GB Maxtor SATA
Lite-On 411S DVD+-R/RW
Logitech Elite Duo wireless KB/Mouse
nvalhalla is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.