RAM and PSU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2004, 05:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 57
Default RAM and PSU

im gettin a new comp and im wondering if 1 gig of Kingston HyperX PC3200 RAM will be good. And also, will 420watts of PSU be enuf?
__________________

Cyph3R is offline  
Old 04-16-2004, 05:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 318
Default

Yes both will be good. I guess make sure the ram is cas2 being the fastest out. ANd depending ont he psu vrand if its good. Trusted companies would be Enermax and Antec for me.But the 420 wats will be enuf BUT u gotta get a good brand one.
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]
  • ANTEC SONATA QUIET CHASSIS ATX 3X5.25 6X3.5 PIANO BLACK 380W TRUEPOWER
  • AMD ATHLON 64 3000+ PROCESSOR S754 2.0GHZ 512KB L2 CACHE RETAIL BOX
  • MSI K8T NEO-FSR ATHLON 64 S754 K8T800 DDR AGP 5PCI SATA RAID 1000LAN SOUND
  • OCZ DUAL CHANNEL OPTIMIZED 2X512MB DDR PC3200 CAS2 W/ COPPER HEAT SPREADER
  • SEAGATE BARRACUDA 7200.7 SERIAL ATA 120GB EIDE 7200RPM 9MS 3.5LP
  • 1.44MB BLACK 3.5IN FLOPPY DRIVE
  • ATI RADEON X800 PRO AGP8X 256MB DDR3 VGA DVI-I TV OUT RETAIL BOX
  • LITEON 52X32X52 ATAPI IDE BLACK CD-REWRITER SMART-BURN OEM W/ SOFTWARE
  • LITEON BLACK 16X DVD-ROM INT E-IDE OEM W/ SW DVD PLAYER
  • [/size]
cell567 is offline  
Old 04-16-2004, 06:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

yes cell is correct. However, i think antecs are down there with deer psu's. garbage and will short out ur systme. i would go with thermeltake and Enermax. you do not neccecarly need cas2 because it is 20-40 more than cas2.5, just make sure to stay clear from cas3. I would not go with kingston. I would possably try some corsair or ocz. Both good for overclocking and stabablity with really low prices (ozc tends to be a little more than corsair.) If your really into o/cing i would suggest munchkin(cant spell it sorry) the best for o/cing yet u pay for that go figuare
(if you could list your specs that would be great so we can judge how much wattage you need more accuritely(cant spell sorry)
XT is offline  
Old 04-16-2004, 06:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

1 gig of memory will be enough to handle most anything you need to do. The 420W power supply if a name brand should be sufficient for your needs.

Kingston is good and I might suggest another brand [hint, hint].
__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 04-16-2004, 06:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 318
Default

I have to dis-agree about the antec psu part. Dude they are STABLE psus. Now i dunno bout TT, heard many ppl having stability issues with em but the ANTECS are solid as a rock. And its mushkin XT
__________________
[size=0.5]
  • ANTEC SONATA QUIET CHASSIS ATX 3X5.25 6X3.5 PIANO BLACK 380W TRUEPOWER
  • AMD ATHLON 64 3000+ PROCESSOR S754 2.0GHZ 512KB L2 CACHE RETAIL BOX
  • MSI K8T NEO-FSR ATHLON 64 S754 K8T800 DDR AGP 5PCI SATA RAID 1000LAN SOUND
  • OCZ DUAL CHANNEL OPTIMIZED 2X512MB DDR PC3200 CAS2 W/ COPPER HEAT SPREADER
  • SEAGATE BARRACUDA 7200.7 SERIAL ATA 120GB EIDE 7200RPM 9MS 3.5LP
  • 1.44MB BLACK 3.5IN FLOPPY DRIVE
  • ATI RADEON X800 PRO AGP8X 256MB DDR3 VGA DVI-I TV OUT RETAIL BOX
  • LITEON 52X32X52 ATAPI IDE BLACK CD-REWRITER SMART-BURN OEM W/ SOFTWARE
  • LITEON BLACK 16X DVD-ROM INT E-IDE OEM W/ SW DVD PLAYER
  • [/size]
cell567 is offline  
Old 04-16-2004, 06:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

lol thanks cell. Never had any luck with antec. But im sorry thermeltake are one of the best psu makers out there. I would think people with un stable systmes and have a thermeltake probably have a problem elsewhere
XT is offline  
Old 04-16-2004, 06:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 318
Default

lets call it a tie XT.Thermaltake,Antec,Enermax are all good psus.
__________________
[size=0.5]
  • ANTEC SONATA QUIET CHASSIS ATX 3X5.25 6X3.5 PIANO BLACK 380W TRUEPOWER
  • AMD ATHLON 64 3000+ PROCESSOR S754 2.0GHZ 512KB L2 CACHE RETAIL BOX
  • MSI K8T NEO-FSR ATHLON 64 S754 K8T800 DDR AGP 5PCI SATA RAID 1000LAN SOUND
  • OCZ DUAL CHANNEL OPTIMIZED 2X512MB DDR PC3200 CAS2 W/ COPPER HEAT SPREADER
  • SEAGATE BARRACUDA 7200.7 SERIAL ATA 120GB EIDE 7200RPM 9MS 3.5LP
  • 1.44MB BLACK 3.5IN FLOPPY DRIVE
  • ATI RADEON X800 PRO AGP8X 256MB DDR3 VGA DVI-I TV OUT RETAIL BOX
  • LITEON 52X32X52 ATAPI IDE BLACK CD-REWRITER SMART-BURN OEM W/ SOFTWARE
  • LITEON BLACK 16X DVD-ROM INT E-IDE OEM W/ SW DVD PLAYER
  • [/size]
cell567 is offline  
Old 04-16-2004, 06:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 57
Default

if it has nething to do with it, its a 420 Watt P4 Power Supply... dno wat p4 is
Cyph3R is offline  
Old 04-16-2004, 06:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 318
Default

what do u mean p4 psu. Maybe it says p4 ready but does p4 make psus?
__________________
[size=0.5]
  • ANTEC SONATA QUIET CHASSIS ATX 3X5.25 6X3.5 PIANO BLACK 380W TRUEPOWER
  • AMD ATHLON 64 3000+ PROCESSOR S754 2.0GHZ 512KB L2 CACHE RETAIL BOX
  • MSI K8T NEO-FSR ATHLON 64 S754 K8T800 DDR AGP 5PCI SATA RAID 1000LAN SOUND
  • OCZ DUAL CHANNEL OPTIMIZED 2X512MB DDR PC3200 CAS2 W/ COPPER HEAT SPREADER
  • SEAGATE BARRACUDA 7200.7 SERIAL ATA 120GB EIDE 7200RPM 9MS 3.5LP
  • 1.44MB BLACK 3.5IN FLOPPY DRIVE
  • ATI RADEON X800 PRO AGP8X 256MB DDR3 VGA DVI-I TV OUT RETAIL BOX
  • LITEON 52X32X52 ATAPI IDE BLACK CD-REWRITER SMART-BURN OEM W/ SOFTWARE
  • LITEON BLACK 16X DVD-ROM INT E-IDE OEM W/ SW DVD PLAYER
  • [/size]
cell567 is offline  
Old 04-16-2004, 06:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cell567
what do u mean p4 psu. Maybe it says p4 ready but does p4 make psus?
it says in ur sig u have a 350W p4 PSU
__________________

Cyph3R is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.