RAM Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2004, 08:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 6
Default RAM Problem

I have a system with a 128 MB DDR Ram module. System experienced problems and one of which the RAM was showing in the display properties as just 96MB.

System previously had ME installed. I formatted and installed Win98 SE. Solved most of the problems but System properties still shows RAM as 96MB. When I check the video adapter properties, it shows that the system has 128MB and video 32MB.

I was also advised that the video may be using the RAM. Can this be possible, I have never heard of it. If so, I was also told it can be changed. Need help as some of the software that requires 128 MB Ram will no longer work.

NOTE, All software worked previously until problems developed.
__________________

DoubleJ0601 is offline  
Old 06-21-2004, 09:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 425
Default

YES, video can use ram. In your bios there will be an option like, "video ram cachable" or something to the effect of "allow vga to use sys ram."

Al
__________________

__________________
AMD>INTEL
ATI>NVIDIA

C++
JAVA
JAVASCRIPT
PERL
REEF
LISP
PYTHON

good at Java, mastered Java Script, learning C++ some more, and have not done alot with the others.
winblowz is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 03:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

IF your video card is integrated, it will use RAM for memory. Post your specs and we might be able to help you more.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 06-22-2004, 04:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

Do u have a lots of startup program which use your resources?
didi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.