Ram Pricing ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2005, 01:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 227
Question Ram Pricing ?

Im just wondering why these two sticks of ram are so different
in price. They are both the same except for a difference of 512
megs but the price differs by $150. Im just curious.........


http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...144-202&depa=0
kingtson 512MB===$55.01



http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...141-429&depa=0
Kingston 1GB===$206
__________________

ImUseless is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 01:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

First of all, this is computers. The more you have, the more expensive it'll get per increase. The bigger you get, the price increases exponentionally. Like of couse 1gig will not be double the price of 512, cauze then under the same logic i'd go buy 2gb ram for 4x the price of 512. But wait, 256 mb, is cheaper, so why don't i just buy 2 gigs of ram for 8x w/e 256 mb cost?

Anyways, that won't make up for 100% of the cost. I think that the qualitiy of the ram varies. So the 1 gig of ram is higher qulity than the 512 ram.
__________________

__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 01:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

One is out of stock. Sometimes things that are out of stock don't have accurate prices.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 02:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Out of stock because it's pc2700 and they dont make it anymore, hence an older price
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 08:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 227
Default

The PC2700 is still manufactured by Kingston atleast.
They were only out of stock and not discontinued. I was
notified that it was in but the price on the 512 went up to
$59.25. Im still not sure why 2x the amount of ram is almost
2x or 3x the price.

Im sure most of you know this but I didnt. I guess you save
a few bucks when you buy paired sticks of the same ram versus buying one stick of the same quantity. So, if you think a gig of
ram is all you will really need then it seems it is cheaper to buy
the paired sticks rather than 1 stick of 1gig. I learn something
every day.
ImUseless is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 08:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 20
Default

Its also because if you only have 2-3 slots in your motherboard for ram, you can fit more. Ie, 2 slots filled with 512 as opposed to 2 filled with 1 gigs.
Skaface is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 09:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ImUseless
The PC2700 is still manufactured by Kingston atleast.
They were only out of stock and not discontinued. I was
notified that it was in but the price on the 512 went up to
$59.25. Im still not sure why 2x the amount of ram is almost
2x or 3x the price.

Im sure most of you know this but I didnt. I guess you save
a few bucks when you buy paired sticks of the same ram versus buying one stick of the same quantity. So, if you think a gig of
ram is all you will really need then it seems it is cheaper to buy
the paired sticks rather than 1 stick of 1gig. I learn something
every day.
I almost guarntee their not being made anymore, because I dont know of a company that is currently still making DDR333.

It's pointless to make DDR333 \ PC2700 because everyone needs 3200, and even if you still want 2700, 3200 is just as cheap.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 10:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

One is retail, one is oem.. Oem prices are going to be way cheaper than standard retail.. Valueram is lifetime warranty, OEM is limited warranty (prolly 1 year) If you look for the retail version of the first link i bet you'll find its like 100$.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 12:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 227
Default

Thanks for all the info.

Btw, I meant to say that the pc2700 is still available
due to the fact there is product still on the shelves of
most manufactures but I would suspect they are no
longer manufacturing it.

Both the "retail" and "oem" value ram are lifetime but
the "retail" is both "ecc/registered" for around $100
and the "oem" is neither for $60.

FYI. I called Kingstons 800 # to find out if this is what
differentiated "oem" from "retail". This is how I put it
to tech support.

You have value ram in both an "oem" and "retail" version.
I noticed that both were "lifetime warranty". I also noticed
that the "oem" was listed as non ecc/unbuffered and the
"retail" was listed as ecc/registered.

I asked if this was the only difference between the two
versions and tech support said they couldnt answer that
question for sure. Who cares right, its on pc2700 but I just
wanted to know.

Oh well, no biggie.---End Of Transmission........
__________________

ImUseless is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.