RAM prices - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2004, 10:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 139
Default RAM prices

The best price I can find for 512mb of pc 2700 RAM is $81 (at newegg, of course). The brand of RAM is Kingston. Is there anywhere else that I can find cheaper RAM without sacrificing quality? Is this speed of RAM good enough for gaming?
__________________

__________________
-The one and only Keebler Elf-
Squaggleboggin is offline  
Old 03-20-2004, 10:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 318
Default

may i suggest...pc3200 2x256 sticks of kingston hyper x ram. I don't REALLY know how good this 1 is but the price is nice and its ddr pc 3200. Reviews are all perfect and look good...
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]
  • ANTEC SONATA QUIET CHASSIS ATX 3X5.25 6X3.5 PIANO BLACK 380W TRUEPOWER
  • AMD ATHLON 64 3000+ PROCESSOR S754 2.0GHZ 512KB L2 CACHE RETAIL BOX
  • MSI K8T NEO-FSR ATHLON 64 S754 K8T800 DDR AGP 5PCI SATA RAID 1000LAN SOUND
  • OCZ DUAL CHANNEL OPTIMIZED 2X512MB DDR PC3200 CAS2 W/ COPPER HEAT SPREADER
  • SEAGATE BARRACUDA 7200.7 SERIAL ATA 120GB EIDE 7200RPM 9MS 3.5LP
  • 1.44MB BLACK 3.5IN FLOPPY DRIVE
  • ATI RADEON X800 PRO AGP8X 256MB DDR3 VGA DVI-I TV OUT RETAIL BOX
  • LITEON 52X32X52 ATAPI IDE BLACK CD-REWRITER SMART-BURN OEM W/ SOFTWARE
  • LITEON BLACK 16X DVD-ROM INT E-IDE OEM W/ SW DVD PLAYER
  • [/size]
cell567 is offline  
Old 03-21-2004, 10:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default Re: RAM prices

Quote:
Originally posted by Squaggleboggin
The best price I can find for 512mb of pc 2700 RAM is $81 (at newegg, of course). The brand of RAM is Kingston. Is there anywhere else that I can find cheaper RAM without sacrificing quality? Is this speed of RAM good enough for gaming?
Yeah, you would do better with breaking that up into dual channel
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.